Hive Open Mic week 149 Original Piano Improvisation 'Light Of The World'

'The Light of The World' is our theme for this week. I have written a song all about how incredible our world is and how the light of the sun makes it all possible... but unfortunately I can't sing it because I have a cold which has stolen my singing voice.

This week then, instead of an original song I present to you an original piano improvisation.

At the start I tried to express happiness, light and love. I imagined youth, the joy of childhood and the pleasure it is to dance, run and play. In the middle I was picturing the majesty of the sunrise in my head. I went back to my original idea in three different octaves, to end the music. I left all of the little slips of the fingers and slightly weird chords in, because I quite like the imperfections. I will never play it again but I like the idea that it is transient, just like light.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center