🎵 “Close To You” (Original) - Live Music for Hive Open Mic 170

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, encouraging musicians to share songs with an international audience.


Close To You

I can feel your heartbeat
Pumping through your chest
And it makes me feel
Close to you

I can see your vibrant eyes
Smiling into mine
And it lets me know
We both feel close

I can smell the roses
Showing me to go slow
And it feels like home
With your hand to hold

I can taste cacao
Warm in my mouth
And I feel your kiss
On my lips

I can hear the wind chimes
Telling me it's time
And it feels so right
I could cry


In the Hive Open Mic community, we offer a weekly theme as a conversation topic to explore through music. This week, I have the honor of selecting the theme: "Cacao." The reason why I chose this theme is because I'm deepening my awareness and appreciation of this plant as a superfood, medicine, and ceremonial instrument. Let me explain.

While we all know cacao is the main ingredient of chocolate desserts, many of us also understand cacao is often used for medical and ritual purposes. Raw cacao holds natural health benefits and energetic qualities. In my experience, preparing and consuming cacao is a special practice involving deep presence. Whenever I serve ceremonial cacao, I prepare it and consume it with reverence.

Ceremonial cacao can be served individually or in groups, with activities including conversation, meditation, sound healing, ecstatic dance... Cacao baristas often associate ceremonial cacao with opening the heart chakra. I can relate with that. I also notice heightened clarity, emotional release, and gratitude.

To me, the qualities of cacao serve to support us in our expression, connection, and harmony as a whole. These are the pillars of our Hive Open Mic community. With this week's theme of Cacao, I intend to make a special effort to connect with musicians and listeners. While my personal blend of cacao varies from day to day, I happen to have an original recipe to share today.

Ingredients: cacao, coconut, dates, chia seeds

Above, you see a recipe for today's cacao creation (two servings). Ingredients: 4 T raw cacao powder, 4 C coconut water, 4 medjool dates, 2 T chia seeds (soaked), 1 T coconut oil, 1 T cacao nibs (optional). Instructions: Blend. Serve hot or cold.

These ingredients make a sweet tasting cacao. It can be made more savory with fewer dates, substituting water or an unsweetened almond milk instead of coconut water. Use your best judgment. I recommend using your positive intentions to further energize your creation. People say "Love" is the main ingredient. My recommendation is to start with ingredients you have on hand, and customize them to suit your own preferences. With cacao, you can choose your own adventure.

Cabe-Lindsay-cacao01.jpg

Cabe-Lindsay-windchimes01.jpg


Hive-Open-Mic-170d1.png

Acknowledgements

Hive-Open-Mic-170b.jpg

Hive Open Mic - Week 170 is underway now, with the theme: “Cacao." We introduce new themes every Sunday, inviting musicians to share a common current. Musicians always have full freedom to bring whatever music feels inspired in the moment. There is still time to jump in and enjoy this week's Hive Open Mic event!

💛

Enjoy? Join in!
🌟

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
46 Comments