Hive Open Mic Week 120 - My Happiness - Brisas del Zulia Venezuelan Waltz Soloist Cover 馃幎馃幍


IMG_20220729_172552.jpg

We're back for a consecutive week on this nice community to take part in the #openmic invitation. This week's topic is My Happiness. An idea like this has many interpretation. Fortunately, I have one entwined with music.

You might wonder why a huge portion of my videos are related to traditional Venezuelan music. The fact is that sharing those songs makes me happy. I'm a Venezuelan in #hive, so I try to show some of the good things we have in our country. Of course, that isn't the only kind of music I like, but still.

It is a dream of mine to record a lot of Venezuelan Waltzes in many formats. I don't say all of them because I have no idea of how many exist. But the number night be around 500. And that's just talking about the ones that are known and recorded. There must be hidden gems in towns and elsewhere. Also, people keep composing these pieces. So the number never ceases to grow.

My choice of song is Brisas del Zulia. A waltz by composer Amable Espina and lyrics written by Gloria Alba Molero. Its a song that talks about an important landmark in Zulia State, the Lake of Maracaibo. I think it's the biggest lake that has an exit to the sea. But I might digress. On that lake, the independence of Venezuela csme to fruiton in 1823.

The song talks about the breeze in this place and borrows on the poetic to show imagery that's both refreshing and beautiful. The former is a tough image since Maracaibo, the capital of the state is a really hot place. So are many regions of Zulia. Nevertheless, this waltz is a beautiful piece with an easy melody.

This song was requested a long time ago. While in a summer camp, a girl of my group asked me if I knew it. Unfortunately, I did not since I had no repertoire. Mistake that I have fixed. Another reason to be happy is learning songs that remind you of your childhood. The first I listened to this song was thanks a recording of Sim贸n D铆az. And it has been stuck in my head since. It has catchy lyrics.

Meciendo las palmeras
como si fuera mecer de naves,
me pongo en mi terru帽o a evocar
la brisa de mi lago gentil
como perfume fresco
como caricia de dulce amor
que dan h谩litos tibios
las embriagaciones de m铆 claro sol (Bis)

Las ondas de mi lago
Semejan gaviotas de cristal
que fingen caravanas
tras la brisa de un hermoso ideal.
Plet贸ricas espumas,
sutiles ilusiones del mar
que huyen tras la sombra
de un inmenso cocal. (Bis)

So帽ar despierto, ante la bruma,
con las pupilas llenas de sol,
Brisas del Zulia, canci贸n de cuna
no olvido nunca tu acariciar.(Bis)

Las ondas de mi lago
Semejan gaviotas de cristal
que fingen caravanas
tras la brisa de un hermoso ideal
Plet贸ricas espumas,
sutiles ilusiones del mar
que huyen tras la sombra
de un inmenso cocal.

So帽ar despierto, ante la bruma,
con las pupilas llenas de sol,
Brisas del Zulia, canci贸n de cuna
no olvido nunca tu acariciar.(Bis)

Again, I let Embla do the singing for me. I hope you enjoy this recorded as much as I did while trying to record it. Even when it took me a lot of tries, watching the results always cracks a smile on my face. And that's what happiness is all about, the little moments.

Maybe my performance will make you smile.

Logo grabado en madera.jpg

Follow me on Instagram for enquires and commission.

If you'd like to help the workshop grow, you can make a donation here.

You can find me at discord as bertrayo#1763


鈻讹笍 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now