UNEMPLOYED AGAIN

pexels-anna-shvets-4226206.jpg

Yesterday, I wrote about quitting my job due to workplace injustice and downright inhuman treatment.

Click here to see my yesterday's post.

I wrote that piece in the morning. hours before I left for work for the last time.

Well, I got to work and talked with the manager. She happens to be my sister-in-law so it wasn't exactly a formal conversation. I was more or less reminding her about what she already knows (I hate the job).

If you read my previous post, you would understand that I only get employed based on recommendation. Well, my sister-in-law recommended me for this job. And she feels a whole lot of regret at the fact that the job had to turn to shit so fast.

So yesterday morning, I told her that would be my last day at that office. The look in her eyes almost made me cry. Then she begged me to stay until the end of the month. I told her I would stay because I would be needed.

I shared a desk with a girl who just turned 19. She can't survive the daily workload alone. So, I promised to stay until they found a replacement for me by the end of the month.

Well, as fate would have it, the manager got a call from the CEO of the company telling her to do a 50% slash on our salaries and a 1000naira deduction for every day we came late to work.

I happened to come late more times than not. the monthly payment is less than $70 (N30,000). which leaves me with less than $35, plus all the times I came in late deducted, I could be paid at most $12.

Let's talk about time put in.

Work begins at 8 am for 6 days a week and closes by 6 pm every day. Once a month, I work an additional day, making it 7 days for that week.

I barely had time for myself. Let alone my dog or the person I happen to be dating.

Right after she got that call, I completed my accounts, picked up my little bag and told them I was done.

My sister-in-law also has intentions of quitting. The business will eventually close.

That's what it's like working for a total dick-head with no care for humans.

In the meantime, I'll be looking for more ways to make more money from my writing, and gaining more skills.

I hear French calling me, it's time to answer.
Driving classes been on my neck, time to get on the road.


Moral Lesson
Don't sit around and let anyone treat you like shit, just because they can. You deserve better and you can survive without them.


KK (8).jpg

My name is Karina.

I'm a Nigerian,
A writer of short stories, and
A part-time editor.

I love reading.
I'm currently reading 'Anxious People' by Fredrick Backman.

I write for fun and pay.

I'm the last child of 8 children and I'm 23 years old.

Check out my Freelance Gigs

Here's my recent story:
Dawn

You can contact me:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency