For The Love Of African Star Apple || Cherry

IMG-20220204-WA0050.jpg

Uhmm... Only recently I found out that these sweet looking fruits are called African Star apple but what they are popularly called here in Nigerian is "Cherry" and that's the name I still prefer calling it.

Uhmm I don't think I've written a post about my favorite fruit or have I? If I have, I'm sure I said that fruit is one of my favorites because I'm a lover of fruits and I love to explore more fruits, taste them and keep tasting them.

Cherry fruit became my dry season favorite fruit πŸ˜‚ Yeah, this is because it's more abundance from December to April (During dry season). So you will always hear me asking by November when exactly cherry was going to come out in December so I could start buying 🀣

IMG-20220204-WA0048.jpg

These fruits have been my favorite since childhood when my dad would bring a lot of them home from work. At first, I hated it's sour and acidic taste it had but from the day I tasted the sweet ones, my love for it was born.

Cherry tastes sweeter when they ripe (that is when they fall from their tree themselves) and they taste sour and acidic when they are not ripe (that is when they are plucked too early). And of course, I prefer the ripe and sweet ones.

There was a time I had to walk for about an hour to find who sells sweet cherries πŸ˜‚ it wasn't funny that day, like I was so determined to have some cherries that day and I found them. My dad knew my love for them so he never jokes with them whenever he sees them on his way back home.

IMG-20220204-WA0045.jpg

While I was finding good and fun reasons to love the area of my school, I found out that their cherries tastes so much better than the ones at my state... That became one main reason I love my school's state πŸ˜‚ You can imagine how I'm abusing the sweet cherry fruits that are very much available everywhere now.

IMG_20220202_134737_9.jpg

Yeah, that's how it looks inside and it tastes very delicious and sweet especially those seeds you're seeing inside. Firstly, I would dry out the milky juice to my mouth then pick the seeds one after other to enjoy its sweetness. No, I don't chew the seeds πŸ˜‚ they are like other fruits seeds that you can't chew, just take the juice from it and move to the next seed available.

For the love of cherry fruits, I get tempted easily on the way that I may end up buying the same fruit from three different sellers πŸ˜‚ and this happens when I see a more delicious ones than the ones I've bought, I buy again not minding the fact that I may not finish them that day. I could eat five cherry fruits in a sitting when it's ripe. My friend would always wondering why I love cherry fruits the way I do but trust me, I don't know either 😌

IMG_20220202_134811_6.jpg

So you maybe asking what these fruits gives to the body, like their benefits... They are so many but I'll share the main four I learnt from people.

  • Cherry fights indigestion: Taking cherry fruits after eating your normal meals helps your meal to digest faster. Honestly, I don't take the fruit for this purpose because I eat them at any time of the day.

  • Cherry strengthens immunity: The fruit contains a high percent of vitamin C which is a main source of strength to our immunity. So it helps our body to fight against diseases faster.

  • Cherry aids pregnancy and toothaches: Even I was shocked to find out about this. Maybe I would be a number buyer of cherry fruits in every market when I get pregnant 🀣 and for the toothaches, you've heard now... It aids toothaches pain to go away.

  • Cherry aids weight loss: For the love of cherry, I have refuse to add weight πŸ˜‚ because I'm not planning to stop taking cherry so I'd rather loss weight even though I don't have much weight to loss πŸ˜… For those who wants to lose weight, you should love cherry fruits more.

And that's it for my favorite dry season fruit, I hope you get the gist and you will love our African Star Apple from now.

Also Posted Here

Thanks for reading!!!

The images used were taken at different times with different mobile phones but they are all mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center