Arsenal; the future is bright.

Football has been a major source of unity in Nigeria. With the mention of football, all other forms of divisions like tribe, religion, geopolitical zones, political parties and the rest are relegated to the back.

At the level of international football, you see Nigerians sit in front of televisions mostly in viewing centres to watch our boys or girls play in the green white green colour.

photo-1606542353593-d1f26eb13088.jpeg
Source

At this point, no one cares if a Musa scores or a particular Moses scores, all we want is for Nigeria to score and win the game - the religion or tribe doesn't matter.


At the level of club football, I have been supporting Arsenal since 2006 and by the grace of God, no going back whether we win or lose.

photo-1563580853176-38535245e8b6.jpeg
Source

Club support is a thing of fun in Nigeria. The banters, tantrums, jokes always make viewing centres lively and I look forward to weekends for EPL, midweeks for Champions League (unfortunately my club has been a spectator for quite some seasons now), Europa League or even EPL in few instances.


Over the years, I have been an attendee at the annual Arsenal day festival in Okene, Kogi State where Gunners meet to rejoice and celebrate with the club every December. It's always a fun. I promise to update you of the exact date in this December so that you can come and witness the passion of supporters.


In the last few seasons, Arsenal has witnessed some setbacks especially post Arsene Wenger era. We were relegated from champions League to Europa and later from European football entirely. This was a dark time for we the supporters but our love for the club is beyond being broken by any failure of the players. I love this club.


Last season was a mixture of bad and good experiences. We lost the first three matches and was trailing from the bottom on the EPL table. Later in the season, our youngsters like Aaron Ramsdale, Odegaard, Saka, Martinelli, Gabriel, White, Tierney, Tomiyasu, Partey and the rest put up spirited efforts to the point of missing champion's League spot narrowly to Spurs. Kudos guys.


photo-1577214250144-73af4b7364f6.jpeg
Source


Coming down to this season, this is what I call a perfect start. Doing exactly opposite what we did in our opening three games last season is something great. Winning three out of three with 7 goals difference. The season looks promising.


If I want to appraise the players individually, time and space won't permit me. Let me just make one or two statements. I doubted the rationality behind the signing of Gabriel Jesus from Manchester City. I'd thought he wasn't the perfect replacement for our erstwhile Captain, Aubameyang. He has proved me wrong with his outstanding performance in the games so far.


Saliba has also raised the bar of his performance. He is a word class defender. Zinchenko has been wonderful and he is thus a great signing. Our amiable Captain, Odegaard and other fast improving youngsters mentioned earlier are really giving me confidence and belief that another invisible team is being assembled by Mikel Arteta. At some point, I doubted the process but right now I see Arteta as a Manager with a vision and mission and indeed the process is worth my trust.


The other results that beats my imagination is the Manchester United Vs Liverpool game. I'd expected Liverpool to win but football can't be predicted some times. Newcastle also stunned me by their draw with Manchester City.


Arsenal is not just qualifying for a Champions League spot this season but we will be challenging for the EPL title and also the Europa League.
We can do this!!!
COYG


Thank you for your time. If you want to participate in the lovely @hivenaija community prompt, check it out here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments