County Music 🎵

img_0.7794511587085403.jpg
My friends know that I listen to Country music on Sunday evenings.

We grew up listening to country music at home.
Dad had/still has old country music records that he used to spin on the old fashioned turntable connected to an amplifier and speakers. So Jim Reeves, Don Williams, George Jones, Dolly Parton, etc were a staple at home in the 90s.

I think Don Williams and Jim Reeves had more fans in Africa/Nigeria than in their native America.

Along the line, I started listening to Country music splash on my local radio station and that pretty much sealed Country music as my weekly Sunday night playlist. I love the old Nashville Tennessee sound and listen more to the old generation country artistes than the new school country singers.

Country music is so cool, the songs are basically stories: love stories, family life stories, funny stories, stories of faith, hope and despair. However on rainy Sunday nights like tonight, I tend to flirt a bit with Coldplay, my favourite rock band and go on a voyage with them to, P-a-r-a-d-i-s-e and then run back to Don Williams, and sing along with him:

"I don't believe in superstars
Organic food and foreign cars
I don't believe the price of gold
The certainty of growing old
That right is right and left is wrong
That north and south can't get along
That east is east and west is west
And being first is always best

But I believe in love
I believe in babies
I believe in mom and dad
And I believe in you

Well I don't believe that heaven waits
For only those who congregate
I like to think of God as love
He's down below, he's up above
He's watching people everywhere
He knows who does and doesn't care
And I'm an ordinary man
Sometimes I wonder who I am

But I believe in love
I believe in music
I believe in magic
And I believe in you

I know with all my certainty
What's going on with you and me
Is a good thing
It's true, I believe in you."

Thanks for reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center