"Nationality 国籍"

IMG_0463.JPG

"Nationality"

I was and am thinking about my nationality. I have a permanent residence visa in Canada but my nationality is Japanese. I have to renew my permanent residence card every few years forever. This causes anxiety for me more than I thought. If I have Canadian citizenship, I don't need to renew my residence card and I can join the voting system in Canada. Also, I can be eligible to get a pension when I become older. Life security or human rights is a very important thing for people.

Additionally, I sometimes feel fear to have different nationalities between family members. If something happens, having passports are a very important thing for the family. I think some Hive users also have a similar situation now especially during COVID-19. There are many limitations and restrictions to go back to their original countries.

It is illegal to have dual or multiple citizenship in Japan. If I get Canadian citizenship, I have to resign from Japanese citizenship... This is a very serious situation for Japanese people who live in different countries. If I resign from Japanese citizenship, I will lose my census status in Japan. It means I will become a foreigner when I go to Japan to see my Japanese family. I will become a foreigner... it is such a shocking thing if I lose Japanese citizenship. Also, I can only stay up to 90 days. This situation is not only my issue. This is a big issue for future children or young people who have Japanese citizenship. Usually, children have to resign one citizenship when they become 20. There are many complicated situations for many families.

Canadian society is very diverse and there are many different types of people from different countries. Currently, as of 2020, there were just above eight million immigrants with permanent residents living in Canada. I think we will have more immigrants in 2021-2122 in Canada. There are many immigrants who have multiple citizenships in Canada. When I had a Citizenship Test Orientation course, my classmates looked very happy to have multiple citizenship. Yet, I was not happy because I couldn't take the test even though I really wanted to get Canadian citizenship. And also, that was a very meaningful and great course. I shouldn't lose Japanese citizenship now. I have to support my Japanese family.

Japanese courts upheld a ban on dual citizenship. Japan is one of around 50 countries internationally that only permits its citizens to hold one nationality even though this law was created in the Meiji period and our modern law is different from the old one. A group of people is trying to change the Japanese law about dual citizenship at the Japanese court. They are a volunteer group that seeks a revision of Article 11 of the Nationality Act. I joined petition before. There are more details about this case written in English and Japanese. This case will be heard next March again at the Tokyo supreme court. I hope the situation will become better.

"国籍"

国籍のことについて日々考えます。私の国籍は日本ですが、カナダの永住権所得者です。数年ごとに永遠に永住権の更新をしなければなりません。これが思ったよりも心配の種です。カナダの市民権を持っていれば、永住カードを更新する必要はありませんしカナダでの選挙権も得ることができます。それに年をさらに重ねた時に年金を受給することができます。生活の保障と権利はとても大切なことです。

さらに家族間で国籍が違うこともけっこうな心配事です。もし何か起こったら、家族内でバラバラの国籍のパスポートを所持していることになります。コロナ禍でHIVEユーザーの方にも同じような状況下におかれている方が少なくないと思います。今は自国に入国するのにも様々な制限が設けられています。

日本では多国籍を所有すること、つまり日本のパスポートの他に違う国のパスポートを所持することが禁じられています。もしわたしがカナダの市民権を取得すれば、日本の国籍を離脱しなければなりません。これは海外で生活する日本人にとってかなり大きな問題です。もし日本国籍を離脱すると、日本での戸籍を失います。日本の家族に会いに日本へ帰国するときは外国人扱いになります。滞在可能日数はわずか90日までです。これはわたしのような人だけの問題ではなく、日本国籍を持つ子供たちや次世代の若者にとっても大きな問題です。20歳になったら国籍の選択もしなければなりません。様々な複雑な問題が家族間で起こっています。

カナダは多様化で色々な国の方たちが住んでいます。2020年には800万を超える移民が永住権ビザを取得しカナダで暮らしています。2021ー2022年はさらに上回る数の移民が予想されます。カナダには多国籍を所有する移民がたくさん住んでいます。市民権取得テストを受けるためのオリエンテーションコースに参加した時、クラスメートの皆さんはカナダの市民権を取得できることをとても喜んでコースを受けていました。わたしはというと、受けたくても市民権取得テストは結局今のところ受けれていないので、嬉しい気持ちにはなれませんでした。住んでいる国のことを深く知るそのコースは大変有意義でいい勉強になりました。ただ、わたしは家族をサポートしなければならないので、今日本国籍を失うわけにはいきません。

日本の裁判では日本人が多国籍を所持することを認めませんでした。日本は自国の国籍しか持てない(多重国籍を認めない)とされる約50カ国のうちの一つです。ただ、この日本の国籍ルールは明治の憲法のものであって、現在の憲法とは違うものです。現在、裁判所で国籍法第11条改正を求める有志の会の方たちが国籍はく奪条項違憲訴訟の裁判を起こしてくれています。署名に参加しました。国籍はく奪条項違憲訴訟についての詳しい情報が英語と日本語で記載されています。来年の3月にまた東京高等裁判所で控訴審があります。裁判がうまくいくことを願っています。

image.png
My Site: https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now