👾 Dear @teamhumble things feel weird. You'd think weird would feel familiar by now

Some tunes to get you into the day, <3 Happy Tuesday

I don't know when the last time I wrote you was, but I think that's data I don't necessarily need.

I wanted to leave some thoughts here for your to start your day, not in an alarmist way, but just as a record of, I was here, I made it to 8pm and I feel WEIRD.

I'm always the first person to look inward when I feel off. Was it something I ate, what are my hormones doing? Have I slept enough, drank enough water. I'm always aware that my brain chemicals ebbing and flowing are usually culpable, but today felt different.

Nothing catastrophic happened, but this was almost worse. You see, in a large scale emerergency, like the weather event at the start of September, there are clear objectives, be them damage limiting, repair, or prevention. The threat of flood is pretty binary, zero or one, wet or dry.

Maybe that example is on my mind because the govenor set a state of emergency for flash flooding tonight into tomorrow morning. I've moved the car, prepped what I can, bought extra noodles.

Even something a bit more long running, something that needs care the way I check on this dog bite, gently clean, seal with healing oils and protect with a barrier, that's a problem that's on the mend, Sure it's not an immediate threat but there's a pathway, a procedure.

No, nothing HAPPENED today but I think that's the problem. What I saw on a city, state and country level was signs of something worse.

Today I saw neglect.

Uncleared animal carcasses, road debris, a fire hydrant blasting on full into the road, a "protect & serve" police force poised to write speeding tickets, and nothing else.

At the ol H Maart, Shin Black ramen noodles were back in stock, after weeks of an obvious gap in the floor to ceiling noodle packet shelving, 1.50 price increase. I said to myself "ah, I see how it is." And I bought an extra 4 pack.

It was strange to me that I had the urge to replace wiper blades this morning too, I had had no idea about the flooding and rains coming our way. I've got more soy curls and rice coming.

Do I think we'll be so out of food that we'll go hungry? No not in the near future, but I KNOW the prices are going to go up. And when the pay doesn't go up to match, ya get your chickpeas, and lentils and rice out and make it work.

ALl said, I'm thankful we both see the signs. I think your Earthy-ness really rubbed off on me in that way. I remember when I was in my old apartment I showed you my TDS meter to check water and you said

"i like a woman who knows the total dissolvable solids in her water."

I think I've gone on for quite long enough, I wanted to share my brain and heart a little extra with you this morning. Maybe this is a sign of good things to come, I'm still hurting, and missing, and worrying too much, but the fact that I was even able to write feels like something that wasn't in my emotional service provider package for a long time.

Grabbed the new router firmware...
Set the new VPN...
Refreshed the page.

Hi. <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center