Love - My Experience in a Long-Distant Relationship / Amor - Mi Experiencia en una Relación a Distancia (ENG/ESP)

ENGLISH

Long Distance Relationships✈️

¡Hello all! , today I wanted to write about long-distance relationships, just today, my boyfriend and I fell asleep while we were having a call by WhatsApp.

Context: 🙌

My boyfriend and I met in 2020 in the middle of the pandemic, through Twitter, I did everything in my hands to go to meet him one day and have a coffee together, since it was something telling me that I had to go and know him in person.

So it happens, we met to drink coffee, and then we see each other now and then to make lunch, because there weren't too many places to go because the pandemic.

We became boyfriends in September 2020, I already knew at this time that he would possibly travel from Venezuela to France to finish his university studies through an exchange agreement. I accepted being his girlfriend with that latent possibility, and I told myself that whatever was going to happen, it would allow me to be loved and to love freely. I didn't want to miss the opportunity to share with a person who had captivated me from the first moment.

So, after approximately 1 year of relationship, after having lived many things in that year, he was with me in all the illness and death of my father, and I was with him in everything related to finishing academically his studies here in Venezuela, and we always support each other. At the end of February 2022, he began his journey.

Long before his trip, we attended to couples therapy, not because we had problems or something like that, but because we wanted to understand each other better and with the guidance of my psychologist we wanted to establish healthy limits for each.

My boyfriend has an avoidant attachment, and I have an anxious attachment, you can imagine how complex the dynamic is for us at times.

That is why I would like to share with you some tips, or in some way share some of our experience, on a long-distance relationship, as we have been in one for about 1 year.

Bases for a long-distance relationship according to me:

  • Communication
  • Confidence
  • Quality Time
  • Integration

About Communication:🗣

I think this is fundamental in any relationship, but especially in a long-distant relationship, where you can’t observe the person, where body language isn't easy to detect.

Among my limits, I told my boyfriend that I wanted to know about him at least once a day, that I understood that he might be very busy at work or studying, but I wanted to know that at the end of the day, he was fine; and he refuted me that he could be very busy and that he could miss reaching me out; I insisted that he almost has to write once in a day to me for knowing how he was, that for me that was very important.

We came to an agreement, that the moment he felt very overwhelmed and don't want to talk to anyone, he would send me a specific Whatsapp Sticker, which meant that he needed space alone to regulate himself. And he agreed to communicate with me at least once a day.

IN REALITY, we talk every day, up to more than 2 hours, or in spaces of at least 20 minutes each call during the day. And we keep using the Whatsapp Sticker for when we need a moment alone. When we talk it is very important to tell us about our day, how we feel, and express that we love each other.

Communication is very important, since your partner is not a fortune teller, he does not know what goes through your mind, so you must communicate your feelings. You cannot wait for that person to read your thoughts, if you do not communicate your needs, how can you expect them to be understood or at least heard?

About the Confidence:💑

This is a very sensitive issue, because it will depend a lot on the values and pillars that both manage.

A person can promise you heaven, but if their values are not correct or their morals do not work correctly, most likely this person will lie to you, and deceive you, among other terrible things. But when you are with a person who has positive values and proper morals, you will know that his words are real, and that he will be a loyal person.

I personally consider my boyfriend to be a loyal and honest person. This doesn't mean that there are no insecurities at all, we are so far away, it is almost inevitable that insecurity doesn't appear.

Concern to trust, we made a promise that the moment someone started to like another person, we would communicate it to the other, to avoid cheating, to avoid infidelity.

Likewise, trust goes beyond just physical or emotional infidelities, I think trust also means that you tell your partner your achievements, and your defeats, when you feel sad, when you’re upset. I think trust is also allowing you to be vulnerable in each other’s eyes. There’s nothing more intimate than showing yourself vulnerable.

Quality Time:🕑

As I said before, all day in our free time we make a call, taking care of not disturbing sleep and work, since the time difference varies between 5 and 6 hours. I live in Venezuela and he’s in France, when I’m writing this here it’s 10:30 p.m. and there it’s 3:30 a.m.

We try to make "dates" by watching a movie together online through Skype or Discord, eating a snack together, and sharing a meal, he accompanies me sometimes to work, and I also accompany him in work or study.

It is also to make a moment so that we can both express ourselves, tell us everything, tell what we are feeling.

Integration:👫

When I say integration, I talk about making us participate in each other’s lives despite being away. He is there, but he is involved in my life as if we were together and vice versa. He advises me when I ask him, supports me in my projects, proposes me new ideas for something, and listens to me when I have problems, everything is reciprocal, I do the same things for him. He sends me details when it’s my birthday (it’s the same day as me XD), he sends me details on Valentine’s Day or Anniversary, and I send him some details when I know someone is traveling there.

That is, despite being far away we are involved in the life of both, always respecting the individuality of each.


Long-distance Relationships are very difficult, there are insecurities, there are moments of solitude, and there are times when you feel that it will not work, but I think that speaking people understand, and that two people who really want to be together, fight to the end.

We don’t belong to anyone, but we are free to choose who is with us in this life, and right now I choose him, regardless of distance.


ESPAÑOL

Relaciones a Distancia ✈️

¡Hola a todos!, hoy quise escribir sobre relaciones a distancia, ya que justamente hoy, mi novio y yo nos quedamos dormidos mientras manteníamos una conversación por llamada de WhatsApp.

Contexto: 🙌

Mi novio y yo nos conocimos en el 2020 en plena pandemia, a través de Twitter, hice todo lo posible por ir a conocerlo un día y tomarnos un café, ya que había algo que me decía que tenia que ir a conocerlo en persona.

Efectivamente así fue, nos conocimos tomando un café, luego nos reuníamos cada tanto para hacer almuerzo juntos, ya que no habían muchos sitios a los cuales salir por la pandemia.

Nos hicimos novios en septiembre de 2020, yo en este momento ya tenia conocimiento de que el posiblemente viajaría de Venezuela a Francia a terminar sus estudios universitarios a través de un convenio. Acepte ser su novia con esa posibilidad latente, y me dije a mi misma que fuera lo que fuera a suceder, me permitiría ser amada y amar libremente. No quería perder la oportunidad de compartir con una persona que me había cautivado desde un primer momento.

Así fue, luego de 1 año y tanto de relación, después de haber vivido muchas cosas en ese año, el me acompañó en toda la enfermedad y muerte de mi padre, yo lo acompañé en todo lo referente a terminar académicamente sus estudios aquí en Venezuela, y siempre nos apoyamos mutuamente. Llego el día en que el debía emprender su viaje a Francia; a finales de febrero de 2022, comienza su viaje.

Mucho antes de su viaje, asistimos a terapia en pareja, no porque tuviéramos problemas o algo por el estilo, sino que queríamos entendernos mejor y con la guía de mi psicóloga quisimos establecer limites sanos para cada uno.

Mi novio es de apego evitativo, y yo soy de apego ansioso, podrán imaginarse lo difícil que es para nosotros la dinámica en algunos moments.

Es por ello que me gustaría compartir con ustedes algunos consejos, o de alguna forma compartir un poco de nuestra experiencia, sobre relaciones a distancia, ya que hemos estado en una desde hace aproximadamente 1 año.

Bases para que una relación a distancia funciones según yo:

  • Comunicación
  • Confianza
  • Tiempo de Calidad
  • Integración

Sobre la Comunicación: 🗣

Creo que esto es fundamental en cualquier relación, pero especialmente en una relación a distancia, donde no puedes observar a la persona, donde el lenguaje corporal no es fácil de detectar.

Entre mis limites, yo le comuniqué a mi novio, que quería saber de el al menos una vez al día, que entendía que él podría estar muy ocupado en el trabajo o estudiando, pero quería saber que al final del día el estaba bien; y el me refutaba que podría estar muy ocupado y que se le podía pasar escribirme; yo le insistí que me escribiera para saber como estaba, que para mi eso era muy importante.

Llegamos a un punto medio, que en el momento que el se sintiera muy agobiado y no quisiera hablar con nadie, me enviaría un Sticker de Whatsapp especifico, que significara que necesitaba espacio a solas y regularse solo. Y que aceptaba comunicarse conmigo al menos una vez al día.

EN LA REALIDAD, hablamos todos los días, hasta mas de 2 horas, o en espacios de al menos 20 minutos cada llamada durante el día. Y seguimos manejando el Sticker de Whatsapp para cuando necesita un momento a solas. Cuando hablamos es muy importante contarnos nuestro día, como nos sentimos y expresarnos que nos amamos.

La comunicación es muy importante, ya que tu pareja no es adivina, no sabe que pasa por tu mente, entonces debes comunicárselo. No puedes esperar a que lea tus pensamientos, si tu no comunicas tus necesidades, ¿cómo vas a pretender que estas sean cubiertas o al menos escuchadas?

Sobre la confianza:💑

Este es un tema muy delicado, porque dependerá mucho de los valores y los pilares que manejen ambos.

Ya que una persona podrá prometerte el cielo, pero sus valores no son correctos o su moral no funciona de una forma adecuada, lo más probable es que esta persona te mentirá, te engañará, entre otras cosas terribles. Pero cuando estas con una persona que tiene unos valores positivos y una moral adecuada, sabrás que sus palabras son reales, y que será una persona leal.

Personalmente considero que mi novio es una persona leal y honesta. Lo cual no significa que no existan inseguridades, ya que al estar tan lejos, es casi inevitable que no aparezca una que otra inseguridad.

Con respecto a la confianza hicimos una promesa, que en el momento que a alguno le comenzara a gustar otra persona, se lo comunicaríamos al otro, para evitar engañar, para evitar una infidelidad.

Así mismo, la confianza va más allá que solo infidelidades físicas o emocionales, creo que la confianza también significa que le cuentes a tu pareja tus logros, tus derrotas, cuando te sientes triste, cuando estas molesto. Creo que la confianza es también permitirte ser vulnerable a los ojos del otro. No hay nada mas intimo que demostrarnos vulnerables.

Tiempo de calidad:🕑

Como ya dije antes, todo el día en nuestro tiempo libre nos llamamos, cuidando de no perturbar sueño y/o trabajo, ya que la diferencia horaria varía entre las 5 o 6 horas. Yo vivo en Venezuela y el esta en Francia, cuando estoy escribiendo esto aquí son las 10:30 P.M. y allá son las 3:30 A.M.

Tratamos de hacer “citas” viendo una película juntos por internet a través de Skype o Discord, comiendo una merienda juntos, compartiendo una comida, el me acompaña en algunos momentos a trabajar, yo lo acompaño también en cosas del trabajo o de estudio.

Es también hacer un momento para que ambos podamos expresarnos, contarnos todo, contar lo que sentimos.

Integración:👫

Cuando digo integración, hablo de hacernos participes de la vida del otro a pesar de estar lejos. El esta allá, pero se encuentra involucrado en mi vida como si estuviéramos juntos y viceversa. El me aconseja cuando se lo pido, me apoya en mis proyectos, me propone ideas nuevas para algo, me escucha cuando tengo algún problema, todo es reciproco, yo hago las mimas cosas por él. Me envía detalles cuando cumplimos años (cumplimos el mismo día XD), me envía detalles en San Valentín o de Aniversario, y yo cuando puedo que sepa que alguien viaja para allá, le envío algún detalle.

Es decir, a pesar de estar lejos estamos involucrados en la vida de ambos, respetando siempre la individualidad de cada uno.


Las relaciones a distancia son super difíciles, hay inseguridades, hay momentos de soledad, hay momentos en que sientes que no va a funcionar, pero creo que hablando se entienden las personas, y que dos personas que de verdad quieren estar juntas, luchan hasta el final.

No le pertenecemos a nadie, pero somos libres de escoger a quien nos acompaña en la vida, y en este momento yo lo escojo a él, sin importar la distancia.

The images used are property of the author, as well as the content of the post. / Las imagenes utilizadas son propiedad del autor, asi como el contenido en el post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center