Yo no quería tener gatos, pero me enamoré de Aramis / I didn't want to have cats, but I fell in love with Aramis

From a young age, my love for dogs seems to have been embedded in my DNA. Mom says that when I was about 3 years old, I almost had an accident with a dog while trying to give it a kiss on the face, and that my father picked me up just as the animal almost bit me. I really don't remember that, but nevertheless, that incident didn't cause me any trauma, as I have always been on the so-called "team dogs".

I had shared with my friends' cats when I visited them, but it never occurred to me to have a cat as a pet, perhaps because of my mother's idea that with their claws they are capable of tearing apart anything that is used to sharpen them, and obviously I didn't want to have to go through that.

Also because of my brother's allergy, who eventually as an adult ended up adopting a couple of yellow cats, who have been his children for many years. Allergies and all, he and his wife have always taken them with them.

However, life takes many turns and when my first son was young, he was afraid of dogs, preferring kittens as pets, and that's how Sparkle arrived, a very tender and calm yellow and white cat, who for some reason, bonded more with me than with my son. One day she went out for a walk and didn't come back, and even though we looked for her, we didn't even see if she had been run over or something worse.

After that, my son said he didn't want pets, but being in a new house, where the mice were up to mischief, we adopted another kitten, she was tiger-striped and quite particular, as her behaviors were more similar to those of a dog than to those of her species.

By that time, my second son was born and during the afternoon walks with his stroller, I had to take the whole pack: my older son on the skateboard, the baby in his stroller, Hercules, our boxer with his leash, and Stripes, running behind me meowing as if asking not to be left alone. On the way back, she would come back tired in the basket under the stroller, as we spent an hour touring the neighborhood.

Neither of the two slept inside the house, they only spent the day indoors, but were not allowed on furniture. Even when Watercolor, a tricolor kitten entered one night looking for food, she had to adapt to this rule when I decided she could also stay with us.

Upon emigrating, both the dog and the cats remained in Venezuela, so we were petless for a while. But my second son wanted a playmate and after thinking about it a lot, I decided to welcome a tricolor kitten similar to Watercolor. Her mother's owner always offered me a cat, but I was reluctant, as living in a rental, sometimes there are restrictions on pets and that's why I refrained, besides the work they require in terms of cleanliness, food, medical care, and more.

But when I saw the photo of that little colorful fluff, it was inevitable to say no. That night I dreamed of something that I only remember a name from: Aramis, and that's what I named my kitten.

Unlike the other 3, Aramis has been the spoiled one, she slept with me as a baby, I took her to be spayed at 8 months old, to spare her (and me) headaches with offspring that we wouldn’t know if they would be adopted responsibly, and I even gave her my last name!"

I really didn't want to have cats, but she has made me change my mind. And although I argue with her about many of her antics, it's hard to stay mad at her for long when she asks for cuddles or to play for a while. Aramis has brought balance to the house, and my kids adore her!

Desde pequeña, mi adoración con los perros parece que venía incorporado a mi ADN. Cuenta mamá que cuando tenía unos 3 años, casi sufro un accidente con un perro al querer darle un beso en la cara, y que mi padre me alzó en brazos justo cuando el animal casi me muerde. Yo realmente no recuerdo eso, pero no obstante, ese incidente no me causó algún trauma, pues siempre he sido del llamado "team perros".

Había compartido con los gatos de mis amigos/as cuando los visitaba, pero nunca se me pasó tener un gato como mascota, quizás por la idea de mi madre con respecto a que con sus garras son capaces de romper todo cuanto sirva para afilarlas, y obviamente no quería tener que pasar por eso.

También por la alergia de mi hermano, quien ya luego de adulto terminó adoptando un par de gatos amarillos, que han sido sus hijos durante muchos años. Con alergia y todo, él y su esposa los han llevado con ellos siempre.

Sin embargo, la vida da muchas vueltas y cuando mi primer hijo estaba pequeño, él le temía a los perros, prefiriendo a los gatitos como mascota, y es así como llega Chispita, una gata amarilla y blanca muy tierna y tranquila, que por cosas de la vida, se pegó más conmigo que con mi hijo. Ella un día salió de paseo y no regresó, y aunque la buscamos, ni siquiera vimos si había sido atropellada o algo peor.

Luego de eso, mi hijo dijo que no quería mascotas, pero estando en una casa nueva, donde los ratoncitos hacían de las suyas, adoptamos a otra gatita, esta era atigrada y bastante particular, ya que sus comportamientos eran más similares a los de un perro que a los de su especie.

Para ese entonces, mi segundo hijo nació y en las tardes de paseo con su coche, yo debía llevarme a la manada completa: mi hijo mayor en el monopatín, al bebé en su coche, a Hércules, nuestro boxer con su cadena y Rayitas, venía corriendo detrás maullando como si pidiera que no la dejara sola. A la vuelta, ella venía cansada en la cesta que estaba debajo del coche, pues durábamos una hora recorriendo la urbanización.

Ninguna de las dos dormía dentro de la casa, solo pasaban el día adentro, pero no se les permitía subirse a muebles. Inclusive, cuando Acuarela, una gatita tricolor entró una noche buscando comida, tuvo que adaptarse a esta norma cuando decidí que también podría quedarse con nosotros.

Al emigrar, tanto el perro como las gatas quedaron en Venezuela, así que estuvimos un tiempo sin mascotas. Pero mi segundo hijo quería un compañerito de juegos y luego de pensarlo mucho, decidí acojer a una gatita tricolor parecida a Acuarela. La dueña de su madre, siempre me ofrecía un gato, pero yo estaba negada, pues viviendo en alquiler, a veces ponen peros a las mascotas y por eso me abstenía, además del trabajo que dan en cuanto al aseo, comida, médicos y demás.

Pero cuando vi la foto de esa pequeña motita de colores, fue inevitable decirle que no. Esa noche soñé algo de lo que solo recuerdo un nombre: Aramis, y ese fue el que le di a mi gatita.

A diferencia de las otras 3, Aramis ha sido la consentida, durmió conmigo mientras era una bebé, la llevé a ser esterilizada a los 8 meses, para evitarle ( y evitarme) dolores de cabeza con hijos que luego no sabríamos si serian adoptados responsablemente, y es que hasta mi apellido le puse!

Yo, de verdad, no quería tener gatos, pero ella ha hecho que cambie de mentalidad. Y aunque le peleo muchas de sus travesuras, es difícil estar mucho tiempo enojada con ella cuando me pide mimos o jugar un rato. Aramis vino a equilibrar la casa, y mis hijos la adoran!


Foto/Photo by: @mamaemigrante
Edición/Edited by @mamaemigrante using canva
Translated and formatted with Hive Translator by @noakmilo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now