Depression, a personal journey [en/es]

Depression.jpg

Depression is a deep and complex emotion that can affect anyone at any time in their lives. It is a feeling that goes beyond sadness and can envelop us in a darkness that seems endless. I want to share my personal experience with depression, a stage I went through after the loss of a dear friend.

A few months ago I lost my friend Marlen, with whom I shared more than 20 years of my working life, she was quite young and full of life, with many projects and plans, she had a very active life. Her sudden departure due to a breast cancer that gave her no options, left me devastated. The sadness and grief I felt was overwhelming, and soon I was trapped in a state of depression. For weeks, I felt unable to perform the simplest tasks and lost interest in activities that used to bring me joy.

La depresión es una emoción profunda y compleja que puede afectar a cualquier persona en cualquier momento de su vida. Es un sentimiento que va más allá de la tristeza y puede envolvernos en una oscuridad que parece no tener fin. Quiero compartir mi experiencia personal con la depresión, una etapa por la que pasé tras la pérdida de una querida amiga.
Hace unos meses perdí a mi amiga Marlen, con quien compartí más de 20 años de mi vida laboral, era una persona bastante joven y llena de vida, con muchos proyectos y planes, tenía una vida muy activa. Su repentina partida debido a un cáncer de mama que no le dio opciones, me dejó devastada. La tristeza y el dolor que sentí fueron abrumadores, y pronto me vi atrapada en un estado de depresión. Durante semanas, me sentí incapaz de realizar las tareas más sencillas y perdí el interés por actividades que solían darme alegría.


Depression2.jpg

Depression is not just a mood; it is a condition that affects our mind and body. I had a constant feeling of hopelessness. The days were endless and so was my listlessness. The loss of my friend not only left me with an emotional void, but also made me question many things about life and death.

However, in the midst of that darkness, I found a light in my family and in my inner strength. I decided that I could not let depression consume me. I began to take small actions to occupy my mind and my time. I clung to my loved ones, who gave me unconditional support. I began to engage in activities that would help me distract myself and find purpose again.

The emotional support of my family was crucial in my recovery process. Talking about my feelings and emotions with them allowed me to better understand my pain and find ways to cope. In addition, I found that expressing my emotions through art and writing was a powerful way to heal.

La depresión no es sólo un estado de ánimo; es una afección que afecta nuestra mente y nuestro cuerpo. Tenía una sensación constante de desesperanza. Los días se hacian interminables al igual que mi desgano. La pérdida de mi amiga no sólo me dejó un vacío emocional, sino que también me hizo cuestionarme muchas cosas sobre la vida y la muerte.Sin embargo, en medio de esa oscuridad, encontré una luz en mi familia y en mi fuerza interior. Decidí que no podía dejar que la depresión me consumiera. Comencé a tomar pequeñas acciones para ocupar mi mente y mi tiempo. Me aferré a mis seres queridos, quienes me brindaron un apoyo incondicional. Empecé a realizar actividades que me ayudaran a distraerme y a encontrar un propósito nuevamente.El apoyo emocional de mi familia fue crucial en mi proceso de recuperación. Hablar sobre mis sentimientos y emociones con ellos me permitió entender mejor mi dolor y encontrar maneras de sobrellevarlo. Además, descubrí que expresar mis emociones a través del arte y la escritura era una forma poderosa de sanar.


Depression3.jpg

Depression is a battle that many face in silence. It is important to remember that we are not alone and that seeking help is an act of courage. My experience taught me that although life can be painful, it is also possible to find the strength to move forward. My friend's memory lives on in my heart, and her loss has made me appreciate even more the people I love and the moments we shared.

If you are going through a difficult time, I encourage you to seek support from your loved ones and if you can't, it's not a problem, there are professionals to help. I always think it is important to know that we have people who love us and help us. Also, allow yourself to feel and express your emotions. Depression does not define who we are, it is a part of our human experience that we can overcome with love, support and resilience.

I leave you my experience, I hope you find it useful, with it I take the opportunity to join the #inleo initiative, this is my entry for the proposal of the day 6 of #octoberinleo, to participate in it you just have to click here.

La depresión es una batalla que muchos enfrentan en silencio. Es importante recordar que no estamos solos y que buscar ayuda es un acto de valentía. Mi experiencia me enseñó que, aunque la vida puede ser dolorosa, también es posible encontrar la fuerza para seguir adelante. La memoria de mi amiga vive en mi corazón, y su pérdida me ha hecho apreciar aún más a las personas que amo y los momentos que compartimos.Si estás pasando por un momento difícil, te animo a que busques apoyo en tus familiares queridos y si no puedes , no es problemas , existen profecionales que ayudan . Siempre pienso que es importante saber que tenemos personas que nos quieren y ayudan. Ademas que te permitas sentir y expresar tus emociones. La depresión no define quiénes somos, es una parte de nuestra experiencia humana que podemos superar con amor, apoyo y resiliencia.Les dejo mi experiencia, espero que les resulte útil, con ella aprovecho para sumarme a la iniciativa de #inleo, esta es mi entrada para la propuesta del día 6 de #octoberinleo, para participar en ella solo tenéis que pinchar aquí


Las fotos fueron tomadas con mi teléfono Xiaomi Note 11, unidas y recreadas en canva.
Usar Traductor DeepL

The photos were taken with my Xiaomi Note 11 phone, joined and recreated in canva.
Use Translator DeepL

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center