A Tough Year: Irreplaceable Losses, On The Edge of Depression and Assimilation [ENG/ESP]

A Tough Year.jpg

SOURCE

untitled.gif

My life in general terms has not been atrocious or horrible. Nor has it been a beauty, or a fairy tale. I think like many of you, it has been a life of ups and downs. Good times, not so good times. We have all experienced something that, no matter how much we are cared for, warned about or try to avoid (third parties), it is inevitable; it will happen. And I am referring to pain. And not the physical pain, which is even more incontestable, but the pain of having to suffer for having experienced situations, moments, traumas or issues that change our character and sometimes even our personality...

For me, doing this, i.e. an account of what this year (2022) has been like, is challenging. Not because I can't write it down or convey my emotions, but because I am the kind of person who tends to "keep to myself" everything that happens to me. Nevertheless, I discovered this community within HIVE and I want to do a meaningful exercise of self-catharsis. A caress towards me, towards what one is not supposed to bear or keep to oneself for so long. Now, my year started with COVID-19. I was able to survive the pandemic for almost two years, but the Omicron caught up with me. Personally, it didn't affect me that much. I was counting on two doses but nothing to do with comparing it to a simple little tap, as some people used to say (Hello Bolsonaro).

Mi vida en líneas generales no ha sido atroz ni horrible. Tampoco ha sido una belleza, ni un cuento de hadas. Creo que como a muchos de ustedes, ha sido una vida de altibajos. Épocas buenas, otras no tanto. Todos hemos experimentado algo que, por más que nos cuiden, que nos adviertan o que intenten evitar (terceras personas) es inevitable; sucederá. Y me refiero al dolor. Y no, al dolor físico, que es aún más incontestable, sino al dolor de tener que sufrir por haber experimentado situaciones, momentos, traumas o cuestiones que nos cambian el carácter y hasta en ocasiones la personalidad...

Para mí, hacer esto, es decir, un recuento de cómo ha sido este año (2022), es desafiante. No porque no pueda redactarlo o transmitir mis emociones sino porque soy el tipo de persona que suele "guardarse" todo lo que le sucede a sí mismo. No obstante, descubrí esta comunidad dentro de HIVE y quiero hacer un ejercicio significativo de catarsis propia. Una caricia hacia mí, hacia lo que se supone que uno no debería soportar ni guardarse por tanto tiempo. Ahora bien, mi año inició con COVID-19. Pude sobrevivir a la pandemia por casi dos años, pero el Omicron me alcanzó. En lo personal, no me afectó tanto. Contaba con dos dosis pero nada que ver con compararlo con una simple gripecita, como solían decir algunas personas (Hola Bolsonaro).

WhatsApp Image 2022-12-10 at 11.46.18 PM.jpeg

Photo from my own authorship

I overcame my illness, I was unfaithful to my girlfriend See, nobody's perfect. I gave in to a matter of passion, with a girl who could rarely be worth it but who just happened to catch me at a very hard time with my girlfriend. This is not justification, nor is it an attempt to shift the blame for my mistake, but it is the facts that led me to the action that gives meaning to this paragraph. December, January and February were not the best months of a relationship that is now two years old and counting. But in that period we were on the edge of the abyss. I regret one thing, that I didn't end it at that time. It's not about being bad or good, on the contrary, it's just about explaining my humanity, what has happened to me during these months.

I am very sorry for having hurt you, very much. What's more, I myself revealed my deceit. I could no longer sustain this betrayal of her, and I had to say it. In detail, without mitigating the guilt and without using conventions or euphemisms. I even told her, "If I were you, I would end this relationship right now". I guess she's better than me, or she loves me too much. The truth is that I ended the love triangle, I changed my behaviour a lot and above all I attended (personally) to the causes that led me to do something, which was also my first time. It wasn't that satisfying and honestly it was closer to disappointment than anything else.... Sometimes, pleasure can be overrated (sometimes).

Superé mi enfermedad, fui infiel a mi novia ¿Ven? nadie es perfecto. Cedí a una cuestión de la pasión, con una chica que rara vez podría valer la pena pero que justo me cogió a mí en un momento durísimo con mi novia. No es justificación, ni un intento de restar la culpa sobre mi error pero son los hechos que me llevaron hacia la acción que da sentido a este párrafo. Diciembre, enero y febrero, no fueron los mejores meses de una relación que hoy tiene dos años y contando. Pero en ese período estábamos al borde del abismo. Me arrepiento de una cosa, de no haberla terminado en aquél momento. No se trata de ser malo o ser bueno, al contrario, se trata de tan sólo explicar mi humanidad, lo que me ha sucedido durante estos meses.

Siento mucho haberla herido, muchísimo. Es más, yo mismo revelé mi engaño. No pude sostener más esta traición hacia ella, y tuve que decirlo. Con detalles, sin mitigar la culpa y sin usar convencionalismos o eufemismos. Hasta le dije, "si yo fuese tú, terminaría esta relación ahora mismo". Supongo que ella es mejor que yo, o me ama demasiado. Lo cierto, es que yo terminé con el triángulo amoroso, cambié muchísimo mi comportamiento y sobre todo atendí (personalmente) las causas que me llevaron a hacer algo, que también resultaba mi primera vez. No fue tan satisfactorio y honestamente estuvo más cerca de la decepción que otra cosa... A veces, el placer puede estar sobrevalorado (a veces).

WhatsApp Image 2022-12-10 at 11.46.33 PM.jpeg

Photo from my own authorship

Months passed, March, April came. My older brother, a man 11 years ahead of me. He is quite old compared to me (I am 32), suddenly, without anaesthesia and suddenly said to me "I'm going to the United States, help me sell some things to leave". He and I didn't have the best sibling relationship. On the contrary, we always got on very badly. Mistreatment, blows, distance, indifference, and a lot of pride between the two of us. The years went by, we were able to "work things out", get better and when we were "closer", he left. I don't blame him, I would have done the same if I could. It is no secret that Venezuela is a disaster as a country, in many ways, this is not quality of life. We live to survive.

My mother, an exceptional woman, unique, beautiful like few human beings, died on 19 May 2022. I wouldn't say it was sudden, or without warning, but she got noticeably worse from an illness I never saw coming. A chronic hepatitis that consumed her in little more than a month. The curious thing is that she never drank in her life, nor did she use substances. But she was a blood donor, and perhaps that is where the beginning of the end began. If anyone suffered in this life, unfairly, it was my mother. The best daughter a mother could have, but she didn't have the love she needed from her mother, my grandmother. She believed in love three times, and all three were fiascos. Beatings, mistreatment and humiliation included. Added to that, a degenerative illness: paranoid schizophrenia?

Pasaron los meses, llegó marzo, abril. Mi hermano mayor, un hombre que me lleva 11 años de ventaja. Es bastante mayor en comparación a mí (yo tengo 32), de repente, sin anestesia y súbitamente me dijo "Me voy a Estados Unidos, ayúdame a vender algunas cosas para marcharme". Él y yo no tuvimos la mejor relación de hermanos. Todo lo contrario, siempre nos llevamos muy mal. Maltratos, golpes, lejanía, indiferencia, y muchísimo orgullo entre ambos. Los años pasaron, pudimos "solventar" las cosas, mejorar y cuando "más unidos" estábamos, se fue. No lo culpo, yo habría hecho lo mismo de haber podido. Para nadie es un secreto el desastre que es Venezuela como país, en múltiples variantes, esto no es calidad de vida. Vivimos para sobrevivir.

Mi madre, una mujer excepcional, única, hermosa como pocos seres humanos, murió el 19 de mayo de 2022. No diría que fue súbitamente, o sin previo aviso, pero empeoró notablemente de una enfermedad que jamás la vi venir. Una hepatitis crónica que la consumió en poco más de un mes. Lo curioso, es que jamás bebió en su vida, ni consumía sustancias. Pero sí era donadora de sangre, y quizá allí empezó el principio del fin. Si alguien sufrió en esta vida, injustamente fue mi vieja. La mejor hija que una madre pudiera tener, pero que no contaba con el amor que necesitaba de su madre, mi abuela. Creyó en el amor tres veces, y las tres fueron fiascos. Golpes, maltratos y vejaciones, incluídos. Añadido a eso, una enfermedad degenerativa: la esquizofrenia paranoide...

WhatsApp Image 2022-12-11 at 12.35.50 AM.jpeg

Photo from my own authorship

For those who don't know, this type of illness changes and affects your brain. It leads to a hallucinatory psychosis that distorts any kind of logical reasoning and ends up creating in the affected subject a reality that only exists and makes sense to him. Something that, personally, affected me and, above all, influenced my personality. My mother suffered from this illness since I was 13 years old. I could never understand how all the kids had their mum with them all the time while I never had solid, substantial conversations with her. The funny thing is, not a day goes by in my life that I don't miss her. I loved her, and still continue to love her as much as anyone I have ever passed in my life.

One day before she died, I was with her. I showered her, I dressed her, I combed her hair, I talked to her, though there was no real conversation. Let me tell you, seeing a being as important to a human being's life as a mother die a little at a time is as shocking and hard as anything. Those days I had no peace, no comfort. Only a sense of defeat that was lapidary, imminent. The day my dad called me to let me know he was dead, I simply collapsed. I had never felt so lonely in all my life as I did that day. In fact, it still happens to me. I have had some friends who give you strength, courage and some company, but to feel that you have no one to love you like your mum loves you, is devastating...

Quienes no lo sepan, este tipo de enfermedad cambia y afecta tu cerebro. Deriva en una psicosis alucinante que distorsiona cualquier tipo de razonamiento lógico y desemboca en crear en el sujeto afectado una realidad que sólo existe y tiene sentido para él. Algo que, en lo personal, me afectó y sobre todo influyó en mi personalidad. Mamá, sufría de esta enfermedad desde que yo tenía 13 años. Nunca pude comprender cómo todos los chicos tenían a su mamá siempre con ellos mientras yo jamás sostuve conversaciones sólidas ni sustanciales con ella. Lo curioso, es que no pasa un día de mí vida sin extrañarla. La amé, y aún continúo amándola como a nadie que haya pasado en mi vida.

Un día antes de morir, estuve con ella. La duché, la vestí, la peiné, hablé con ella, aunque no había realmente una conversación. Déjenme decirle, que ver a un ser tan importante para la vida de un ser humano, como lo es una madre, morir de a poco es tan impactante y duro como nada. Esos días no tuve paz, ni consuelo. Sólo una sensación de derrota que era lapidaria, inminente. El día que mi papá me llamó avisándome que ya había muerto, sencillamente colapsé. Jamás había sentido tanta soledad en toda mi vida, como ese día. Es más, aún me pasa. He contado con algunos amigos que te dan fuerzas, valor y cierta compañía pero sentir que no tienes a nadie que te quiera como tu mamá te quiere, es desolador...

WhatsApp Image 2022-12-11 at 12.35.52 AM.jpeg

Photo from my own authorship

The days and months have passed, and I'm still in a hard cocktail of grief and acceptance. Coming to terms with all the blows that life has dealt me is difficult; at least for me. I do believe that everything can be much worse than one usually imagines, but I am not ready to find out. December arrives, a hard month, because it is a family month. Regardless of your beliefs or culture. All of us, we all sit down to reflect and see how momentous our lives are these days. And those who don't, inevitably rub off on those who do. Which makes it virtually impossible.

My relationship with my father has been on a sterile plane. I mean, after mum's death, I simply don't want to step foot in that house (she died in my dad's house) I'm not ready yet. It's not his fault or mine, but I still can't be around him. I feel uncomfortable and vulnerable. It reminds me of a sad and broken childhood, and ultimately of my mum and her last years (where he is not guilty of anything, on the contrary, he has been an exemplary man). On the other hand, the only thing I've improved on is independence. I was always a very self-absorbed boy who found refuge in intelligence and sarcasm. I don't think I'm bad or anything like that, but I love the fact that I don't depend on anyone.

Pasaron los días, los meses, y sencillamente aún estoy dentro de un cóctel duro entre el duelo y la aceptación. Asimilar todos los golpes que la vida me ha propiciado es una cuestión difícil; al menos para mí. Sí que creo que todo puede ser mucho peor de lo que uno suele imaginarse pero no estoy dispuesto a averiguarlo. Llega diciembre, un mes duro, porque es un mes familiar. Independientemente de la creencia o cultura que tengas. Todos, nos sentamos a reflexionar y a ver qué tan trascendental es nuestra vida en estos días. Y aquellos que no lo hacen, inevitablemente se contagian de quienes sí lo hacen. Lo que lo hace, virtualmente, imposible.

Mi relación con mi padre ha estado en un plano estéril. Es decir, después de la muerte de mamá, sencillamente no quiero pisar esa casa (murió en casa de mi papá) aún no estoy listo. No es su culpa ni la mía, pero todavía no puedo estar cerca de él. Me siento incómodo y vulnerable. Me recuerda a una infancia triste y rota, y en últimas instancias a mi mamá y sus últimos años (donde él no es culpable de nada, al contrario, ha sido un hombre ejemplar). Por otro lado, en lo único que he mejorado es en la independencia. Siempre fui un chico muy ensimismado y que halló refugio en la inteligencia y en el sarcasmo. No creo ser malo ni algo parecido pero amo el hecho de poder no depender de nadie.

Many years of my life I searched for what life didn't give me. Now I accept what I am, what I can give and what I can't give. I have experienced everything, and I have heard everything. Therefore, the victimhood that could reside in me has been minimised as much as possible. And now, I live more with "everything will come to an end, no matter what". And more and more, I find peace in those words. The pain, it's still there, I still miss her (mum) but I want to think I was a good son. I hope she saw it that way. The uncertainty of not knowing, not having a chance of knowing is fatal. But there are some things you just won't know, no matter what you do. The depression I think is still there, I haven't treated myself properly, but I know I have to. What I have accepted is the assimilation of the blows. Like Rocky but unsure of a happy ending...

Muchos años de mi vida busqué lo que la vida no me dio. Ahora acepto qué soy, qué puedo dar y qué no. He experimentado de todo, y he escuchado también de todo. Por tanto, el victimismo que podía residir en mí lo he minimizado lo más posible. Y ahora, convivo más con el "todo tendrá un fin, pase lo pase." Y cada vez más, hallo paz en esas palabras. El dolor, aún está, todavía la extraño a ella (a mamá) pero quiero pensar que fui un buen hijo. Ojalá ella lo haya visto así. La incertidumbre de no saberlo, ni de tener una oportunidad de poder saberlo es fatal. Pero hay cosas que no se sabrán, sin importar lo que hagas. La depresión creo que aún está, no me he tratado adecuadamente, pero sé que debo hacerlo. Lo que sí he aceptado es la asimilación de los golpes. Como Rocky pero inseguro de tener un final feliz...

All GIFs used on this post are available in PeakD Platform

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center