An Outsider Look at OneUp

First the Review

I am writing daily reviews about web sites in the HIVE ecosystem on Internet Rivers. My hope is that the reviews will bring a few new users into the platform. For today's review I would like to look at a new HIVE Tribe called OneUp that has the domain 1up.zone . The tribe supplements HIVE rewards with the ONEUP Token.

OneUP is a tribe interested in HIVE Games and game related NFTs. The forum is full of colorful posts with tips on games in the ecosystem along with posts hawking the latest NFTs.

A primary topic is the economic of blockchain based games as such games are able to reward players with tokens that have an actual market value.

The tribe is relatively new and appears to be developing a well distributed richlist with several hundred users holding a hundred or more tokens. The depth of the richlist determines the distribution of rewards in the forum.

I did not see any apparent use cases for the token beyond the forum ... but I didn't look too terribly hard.

The group appears be successfully developing a niche site which could enhance the HIVE community at large. Unfortunately there appears to be a small number of users who've taken to adding the #ONEUP tag to every single one of their posts.

Personally, I think #TagSpam is the worst problems facing HIVE.

Fortunately, There are threads talking about efforts to downvote people who abuse the tag.

I am all for downvoting the daylights out of people who list every flappin' Hive-Engine Token in their taglist for every post.

OF course, I also realize that this very review could be seen by some as tagspam. The post is a review of the site and has nothing to do with games.

Now for a Game

So, to work around the problem, I loaded up Linux terminal and played myself a game of Rogue. Rogue is a classic PC game for texted based screens. In this game one's character, represented by the @ symbol, enters a maze outlined by ASCII characters and battles letters of the alphabet.

The game is remarkably hard with a high fail rate. In the game below I fought my way down to level 21 where I had to face a G. Gs, Js and Ds are the hardest letters to beat. I had no magic to help in the battle so I threw the last of my hand held weapons at the G and was able to defeat it.

Unfortunately there was a U standing right behind the G and the U did me in.

tempa.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now