Going to a Car-Fest. Quite a different day

Last weekend, in addition to preparing materials for some crypto courses I will be teaching, I took the opportunity to broaden my horizons and went on a trip to the eastern part of Emilia-Romagna.

In Ozzano dell'Emilia, a small town east of Bologna, there was a car event involving my friend's club (Flash Car Tuning) and a rally challenge: La coppa Claterna.

I would say a situation diametrically opposed to the peace that yoga provides!

Saturday started in the afternoon, but I had to set up the materials for the classes; so, with Mary we went to the site towards evening; while on Sunday we had high commitments and could not attend.

CRAZY!!!

The music of cars with tuning audio could be heard from miles away, and when we arrived, it was a decidedly crazy mess!

Not that I am delicate about loud sounds, I used to play guitar; so, loud music I can stand it just fine; what was inconceivable was a line of cars with equipment to make a concert hall envious, playing different songs side by side!

Below are some photos of the cars that were playing.

As you can see there are quite a few speakers!

Just think that on average the wattages, in watts, are around 5,000; the amplifiers are powered at 12v we are talking about, roughly speaking, 400 amps!
In fact, the power cables are the size of a finger!

That's too much for me!

Think also that there are air displacements (otherwise we would not hear the sounds) and they are so important , that if you look in the cockpit of the red Fiat 600 you see a pole: my friend explained to me that it is to avoid breaking through the roof!

Basically the woofers create a suction that would bend the canopy pillars!

In the midst of all the confusion, I have to be objective: some cars have systems that sound really good (the 600 is one of them) while some, which may not have tuned the frequencies well, sound like they are megaphones; the sound is flat and croaky!

Having moved on from thundering audio tuning, we move on to the real tuning: the modification of the car on an aesthetic level.
Some insert aerodynamic appendages, change the original color scheme, put gas suspension (to lower the car further from a standstill) Lamborghini Countach-style "gull wing" door opening.

In one word: Works of Art!

Of all the cars featured, I was very impressed with this one all green (not coincidentally, I think it is called the Green Queen):

If you think it is (or was?) a first series Fiat Punto...

The cosmetic tuning also includes the inclusion of extra lights, which used to be neon while now they are LED.

Even in baby cars can be applied!!!

Some, however, got a little carried away and went further....

Personally, it is not tasteful at all, but apparently it wins awards (mah...)

At every automotive event, there is no shortage of some models that have made automotive history, obviously Italian.

Here they are:

The 500 symbolized Italy's economic recovery in the early postwar period, and where most of our parents had their first driving experiences with a NON-synchronized gearbox.
That is, that for each gear change it is necessary to shift from neutral by raising the clutch and then inserting the gear.

The latest is a Lancia, the 037.

Born on the chassis of the Lancia Beta Montecarlo, it collected quite a number of victories in the world rally championship.

All in all, I must say that it was a special evening and a bit out of the box (my ears are still ringing!!!).

Of the Sunday my friend sent me a video: poor tires, and more importantly, what a smell!

I am including it for you as he sent it to me (this friend of mine is into Drift!).

Source

I will probably do it again, but first I will stock up on noise caps!!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center