REVIVED MY GENERATOR.

IMG_20210530_144231.png

Hello Hivers, I learnt the hard way that knowing how to fix your gadgets or electronics is a lifesaver and the best relief. Fixing or servicing of electronics makes it have good life longevity. Also, it is expected that men should know how to fix things and be handy, but for women it is rare. Whenever I tell people I service and repair my gadgets and electronics, they are always shocked.

In the middle of the week, my generator went off suddenly while I was using it. I didn't know what the cause was, but I tried to put it on again and it didn't respond. So I left it till Saturday morning to check it and know what the problem is.

IMG_20210530_143107.jpg

First, I changed the engine oil, checked if the carburettor was working well and they tried to put it on, but it didn't respond. Then I noticed that the generator sounded like the engine block wasn't responsive to the coil and the entire part.

IMG_20210529_133454.jpg

So I decided to fully check out all the parts of the generator. Started with the plug, replaced it with a new one and then over to the carburettor made sure fuel was flowing through all the part generously.

IMG_20210530_145558.jpg

Next, I went over to dislodge the muffler exhaust and freed it of exhaust catalyst powder which you can see in the image below.

IMG_20210529_133542.jpg

Checked the cylinder block compartment and discovered the problem which was leaking of the valve rod. Immediately I removed it and got a new one. The adequate size of the formal valve rod was 1.9inches which I did get successfully and they come in pairs.

IMG_20210529_133426.jpg

IMG_20210530_141847.jpg
Old valve rod 👆

So coupled back the generator, made sure all dusty areas were cleaned and I kicked start it and yay! My generator came back to life.

IMG_20210530_143040.jpg

It is in good condition now and working well. 2hrs spent was not in vain. I have been using my generator for the past 5years and still counting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now