Failure due to spark plug wires with more than 3 years and 20 km old [ENG/SPA]

Salutations community, this week I had to solve a new challenge with the vehicle, the problem started while my father was driving it, I was not aware until he talked to me if one of the cylinders of the vehicle was failing for some time, he asked me if at some point I had removed the spark plug wires to find out which cylinder was failing.

Falla debido a los cables de bujias con mas de 3 años y 20 km

Saludos comunidad, esta semana que inicia me a tocado solucionar un nuevo desafío con el vehículo, el problema inicio mientras mi padre lo conducía, no estuve enterado si no hasta que el converso conmigo si uno de los cilindros del vehículo estaba fallando desde hace tiempo, me preguntaba si en algún momento había retirado los cables de bujia para saber cual cilindro fallaba.


01.jpg


sep_hivemotor.png

It took me by surprise because the day before I drove the car I did not have any failure, I knew that when I started it in the morning it was a little hard but after 1 minute it started to work, it was noticeable that it was a combustion failure but as it started to work well, I let it go until my father told me about the failure that he had.

Me tomó por sorpresa porque el dia anterior que yo conduje el carro no tuve ninguna falla, si sabía que al encenderlo en las mañana costaba un poco pero pasados 1 minuto emparejaba, era notable que se trataba de una falla de combustion pero como empezaba a funcionar bien, lo deje pasar hasta que mi padre me comunicó sobre la falla que se le presentó.




sep_hivemotor.png

The truth is that I was very upset that day, I had just put the other vehicle on the road, it cost me a lot to get it back on the road, months of saving and finding the faults, and now I had to solve another problem with the car that supposedly everything works fine, I feared for a moment the worst, so I parked it and waited to calm down to check it.

La verdad me moleste mucho ese dia, apenas acababa de poner a rodar el otro vehículo, me costo muchisimo poder sacarlo a la calle nuevamente, meses de ahorrar y dar con las fallas, y ahora tenía que solucionar otro problema con el carro que supuestamente todo le funciona bien, temí por un momento lo peor, así que lo estacione y espera calmarme para poder revisar.



sep_hivemotor.png

When I turn it on the failure is similar when any of the cylinders is not working well, I set out to remove the spark plug wires to find out which one, and as soon as I removed the first one I realized the problem, in the first two pictures you can see how the electric current was starting to come out through the rubber cable and not the terminal or tip.

Cuando lo enciendo efectivamente la falla es similar cuando alguno de los cilindros no esta trabajando bien, me dispuse a retirar los cables de bujia para saber cual, y apenas saque el primero me di cuenta del problema, en la dos primeras imagenes pueden notar como la corriente eléctrica estaba empezando a salir a través de la goma del cable y no del terminal o punta.



sep_hivemotor.png

I had the false idea that the cables had been replaced recently, I could not believe that these had already been damaged, but after a moment I remembered that the new cables had the other vehicle, so I realized that possibly these cables had more than 3 years and 20 km or perhaps the original factory. So when I started to remove the rest of the cables I noticed that even the rubber due to the temperature had asked for its firmness.

Tenía la falsa idea que los cables lo había reemplazado hace poco, no podía creer que esto ya se hubieran dañado, pero después de un momento recordé que los cables nuevos los tenia el otro vehículo, fue así que me di cuenta que posiblemente estos cables tenían mas de 3 años y 20 km o quizás lo originales de fabrica. Fue así cuando empecé a retirar el resto de los cables note que incluso ya la goma debido a la temperatura había pedido su firmeza.



sep_hivemotor.png

I'm sure many already know the reason for this deterioration, the truth is that the combination of high engine temperatures and high current flowing through these cables did their thing, deteriorate the cables, but it is normal, everything has a time of life or use according to their quality of materials and workmanship. What surprised me and hurt me even more was the protection of the cables, the last time I bought some Yukkazo cables they cost me 30$ a long time ago.

Estoy seguro que muchos aca ya saben la razon del porque este deterioro, la verdad es que la combinación de las altas temperaturas del motor y la alta corriente que circula por estos cables hicieron lo suyo, deteriorar los cables, pero es algo normal, todo tiempo un tiempo de vida o uso de acuerdo a su calidad de materiales y fabricación. Lo que me sorprendió y dolió mas aún fueron lo protección de los cables, la última vez que compre unos de la marca Yukkazo me costaron 30$ hace ya bastante tiempo.




sep_hivemotor.png

Now an original cable or a quality replacement cost between 50$ to 60$ USD, so this time I had to buy a Chinese imitation, which unfortunately aren't made of silicon, but I needed to solve at the time according to the budget, but they are fulfilling the function, I removed the malfunction to the car and I can ride like this for a while while I buy some of better quality and leave these for any emergency.

Ahora un cable original o un reemplazo de calidad cuestan entre 50$ a 60$ USD, así que esta vez toco comprar una imitación china, que lamentablemente no son de silicon, pero necesitaba resolver en el momento de acuerdo al presupuesto, pero están cumpliendo la función, le quite la falla al carro y podre andar asi por un tiempo mientras compro unos de mejor calidad y dejo estos para cualquier emergencia.

photo_2023-11-27_15-02-46.jpg

photo_2023-11-27_15-02-49.jpg


sep_hivemotor.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments