AVCA First Serve Showcase

PXL_20240723_233549644.jpg


Ever since I met my wife, I have started to gain an appreciation for the sport of volleyball. @mrsbozz had two passions when she was in high school. They were basketball and volleyball (probably in that order). I didn't know her back then, but from what I have heard, she was pretty adept at both of them. It wasn't enough to play at the university level, but for the small town she grew up in, she was dang good.

It's funny because now that our niece plays volleyball I often hear my wife talking about what she should have done or would have done as we are sitting in the stands. Personally, I think @mrsbozz would be an awesome basketball or volleyball coach, but she just doesn't have the energy left after a long day at work to put towards something like that.

So anyway, we have been watching a lot more volleyball lately. We watched quite a few men's and women's matches during the recent Summer Olympics.

Lucky for us, although the Olympics are over, the NCAA women's volleyball season recently kicked off.

Right now in Louisville, KY at the YUM center which I walked right by a year or two ago when I was on Spring Break the NCAA is holding the AVCA Showcase. I tried to find what AVCA stands for, but I got sidetracked. Sorry, you can look it up yourself.

Four of the powerhouse volleyball teams in the country are facing off this weekend in this showcase tournament.

Action kicked off last night with #2 ranked Nebraska beating #9 ranked Kentucky three sets to one. Then, in a stunner, the home team Louisville Cardinals (ranked #6) upset the #3 ranked Wisconsin Badgers.

I haven't looked at the numbers yet, but if I had to guess, Texas is probably ranked #1 right now since they won the national title last year. I'm pretty excited for the Big Ten volleyball season to get started. There is a good chance I will be watching some of the games or at least catching up on them while I do my workout in the morning.

The regular season starts on Friday the 30th, so it looks like it will be a volleyball weekend for me when I am not watching football. Good thing YouTube TV has the multi-view option now!

In addition to that, I will be traveling to the local high schools to watch my niece play with her varsity team. I don't know if she is going to do her travel league this year, but we will try to get to as many games as we can. I do think she is going to play soccer this year too, so I better start working on being able to detect an off-sides!

Good luck with that right?!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center