UFC 285!! Jones vs Gane + Shevchenko vs Grasso - Let's Go!!

Man, this well balanced UFC event is just what my soul needed. A sweet diversion from hectic life.

The event is happening now, posting late once again, but it's still pretty far from the main card and the prelims have not started yet so yeah. Highly touted and undefeated Irish prospect Ian Machado Garry is going to fight vs Chinese fighter Song Kenan. Should be a good one! Garry seems to be on his way to be a new McGregor in some people's eyes should be a good one. Would be massive for Kenan if he were to win.

But yes other than the title fights later tonight, there are a nice collection of fights!

Derek Brunson vs Dricus Du Plessis is going to be a banger!! Brunson is an older vet that seems to be aging surprisingly well. I believe some people would have imagined Brunson would have faded away but he remains very strong and a legit top five fighter in the middleweight division. Du Plessis is a much newer face to the UFC and already has a great list of names he has victories over. I'm a fan of his style. He's a thick middleweight but fights super active and aggressive.

Cody Garbrandt vs Trevin Jones should be fun. Cody's career has been pretty tragic in recent years after he had a master class looking win over Dominick Cruz and became champion. Since then he has literally lost five of six. Kind of insane. I've heard of Trevin Jones but can't say I know his style or anything.

Bo Nickal vs Jamie Pickett is a fight I am AMPED for!! Bo is a wrestler and I used to wrestle which is kinda cool I guess. Nickal wreslted at PENN STATE my home state! So overall I am hoping he does well. There is a pretty huge hype train around hi, at the moment. Nickal seems perhaps a bit cocky which I normally don't like. But if he wins and backs up the hype I am ready to jump on the hype train. On paper Jamie Pickett looks perhaps lesser, but he is more experienced and super athletic, so I would not at all count Pickett out.

Geoff Neal vs Shavkat Rakhmonov should be insanely exciting too! Geoff is a fighter I like and respect a lot. He always brings the action and is super game. Shavkat is another hype train himself but wayyyy more proven as of now in comparison to Nickal for example. Shavkat is eerily good in my eyes. He is on his way to great things I believe. If Shavkat can win and win convincingly, he will be in a whole new phase of his career.

Valentina Shevchenko vs Alexa Grasso!!

For the Women's Flyweight Championship! I am a MASSIVE fan of Valentina. She is just so dominant and classy and just awesome. Love watching her reign thus far and I hope she continues to reign honestly. Alexa Grasso is a MASSIVE test. Hailing out of Mexico Grasso might be Valentina's toughest test in a very long time. Grasso is well rounded and has proper size which I believe is important too. Grasso is hungry and I admit seems pretty capable. I just wanna see another classic Valentina victory. It will be tough though....

JON JONES vs CIRYL GANE - HEAVYWEIGHT UFC CHAMPIONSHIP on the line!!!!

Man. Call me a crappy fan, call me whatever. I am so happy to see Jon Jones fight again, and I hope he whoops Gane's butt. It's been three years since we have seen the GOAT and man, I want him to win but that length of time makes me a little nervous...

When Jones fights it's just awesome man. Just villainous. Calculating. Well rounded. Scary good fight IQ. The man is a weapon.

Standing in front of Bones Jones is a very very scary fighter himself. Frenchman Ciryl Gane is a nasty striker and kind of a freak of nature at heavyweight. Light on his feet and very athletic.

Gane makes me nervous as a Jones supporter, but I get the feeling Gane might be in for a bad night. Then again when I think about this being Jones's FIRST fight at heavyweight and his layoff I get a bit nervous.

Then when I see Gane being care free and all chill in lead up content/interviews, I think Gane will get murked.

Maybe that chill attitude will be the antidote Gane needs to fight the intense Jones. Fighters have gone in intense against Jones and paid the price....

I bring this up because Jones's mind games are so underrated I believe. McGregor is a more brash blunt talker while Jones is calculated and very calculated passive aggressive type. Subliminal type I guess.

Man. What a fight!!!!

I think Jones wins but man, Ciryl is very interesting....

Let's go!!! Prelims start NOW!!!!

ufc-285-tickets_03-04-23_17_63f7fd1e47ddc.jpg

Src

4637c96ef2c5447383ed0e7be3a43cf9.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now