NFL QB Rankings for 2023: #17 Kyler Murray - Arizona Cardinals QB

Kyler Murray comes in at #17 on my list.

Src

Kyler Murray is a flashy QB, with a lot of potential still in his relatively young career, but I still have some question marks.

Kyler is such a difficult QB to rank. He is a thrilling player to watch, and he can put up big numbers, but his overall results on the field have been a very mixed bag. He's only been in the league for four years too so that makes it even more challenging for me to rank him.

Kyler clearly has talent, he's not a scrub. Those two facts I'm sure of. Kyler is essentially a younger Russell Wilson, but probably even faster than when Russ was in his prime. He has a good arm in general. Great athlete overall, can run a pro offense competently.

But I question Murray's ability to sustain this playstyle for more than like eight or so seasons, and he's already entering his fifth year WITH an injury I might add. He tore his ACL last season and it's still up in the air when exactly he will return.

Combine his higher risk play style, with his very small size and I'm worried you have a ticking time bomb at QB. I think as a franchise, you want to find a QB that could ideally last twelve years plus, and I find it difficult to see Kyler scrambling around like he has been thus far, when he's 37.

Call me old school, but I still think a team's starting quarterback should have a fair amount of height to him. Kyler just seems extremely small to me, and sure smaller quarterbacks can succeed but I just think it's sort of risky with smaller QBs.

Just taking a look at this list of Super Bowl winning QBs, there's only two QBs that I can identify that were on the smaller side. Russ Wilson and Drew Brees, and I mean, Drew Brees was just about six feet tall so he barely counts. Russ is 5-11, and Kyler is reportedly 5-10 but I've heard that could be being generous. A quarterback must be able to see over giant lineman. Shotgun only helps so much.

Murray is 25-31-1 as a starter through his four year career. He's reached the playoffs once in his career and they were one and done pretty easily when they faced the Rams in the 2021-22 season.

I guess this post sort of roasted Kyler. I know he has talent, but he seems so high risk in many different ways. Pretty shocking that he already got a massive payday too. Cardinals, sheesh. Also, his biggest weapon in DeAndre Hopkins is a TITAN now! (LET'S GO!)

Plus weird off the field rumors make the whole vibe with Kyler weird...

Src

Would love to see where other people have Kyler ranked. Maybe I'm wrong, would certainly not be the first time. Maybe Kyler will be a Hall of Famer, but I'm not sure about that.


Src

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments