NFL QB Rankings for 2023: #27 Desmond Ridder - Atlanta Falcons QB

It's been at least two years since I ranked the NFL's quarterbacks, so why not do a ranking for 2023!

The quarterback position is the most important position on a football team and in my opinion, it's one of the coolest positions to play in all of sports!

Ranking quarterbacks can be controversial. Everyone has different opinions when it comes to the league's top QBs, so I highly doubt everyone is going to agree with my rankings.

I ranked the top twenty-seven likely starters. I did not include rookie quarterbacks or teams with a weird QB situation.


Starting off at #27, is Atlanta Falcons QB Desmond Ridder.

Src

Ridder being ranked the lowest is mostly due to him only having four starts/appearances in the league and him simply not wowing me. He does not appear to be the next big thing, still, I think his ceiling is a solid starter. Probably similar to Dak Prescott or Ryan Tannehill type of ceiling.

Ridder seems pretty average in every category for a QB. He has fair mobility. I do get the impression that he's pretty smart and hard-working though and that just might get him farther than even I predict.

The Falcons have added solid weapons around him and they have a good coach in Arthur Smith. Ridder is 'the guy' going into this season. I'm curious to see how he handles the responsibility of being the starter for a full season. He is a mysterious kid, I'll give him that. No glaring weaknesses in his game.

In Ridder's four lone starts as a rookie in 2022, Ridder went 2-2. He threw for 708 yards with 2 TDs - 0 INTs. He completed 63.5% of his passes and had a 86.4 QB rating.


Src


Src

Do I have Ridder too low? How good do you see Ridder being in the league?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments