Just One Thing - Daily Prompt for 13/06/2022 = Fame

Hello Hivers, Nerds, et al,

Nostalgia crept into my mind whilst thinking about today's #justonething daily prompt. And then i couldn't the darn song out of my head.

šŸŽµ Baby, look at me, And tell me what you see
You ain't seen the best of me yet, Give me time
I'll make you forget the rest

I got more in me, And you can set it free
I can catch the moon in my hand, Don't you know who I am

Remember my name, fame, I'm gonna live forever
I'm gonna learn how to fly, high

I feel it comin' together, People will see me and cry, fame
I'm gonna make it to heaven, Light up the sky like a flame, fame
I'm gonna live forever, Baby, remember my name
Remember, remember, remember, remember
Remember, remember, remember, remember ... šŸŽµ

SOURCE sung by Irene Cara

Yes, of course, I'm referring to the New York based Film, TV series, and Stage Musical from the 80's, Fame.

Set in New York's High School for Performing Arts, a disparate group of students are tracked through their audititons, selection into their chosen fields and subsequent trials and tribulations as they progress through their education.

I was fourteen myself at the time the film was released, and not really sure I knew what I wanted to do with my life. The things I excelled in at school were Maths, English, Geography and Geology. The first two because I had to, the second two because I genuinely enjoyed the subjects. So not really much of a route into something as creative as Drama, Music or Dance. I couldn't even draw or paint very well, so behind the scenes was out too.

Did I ever think I would be famous? On reflection I probably didn't, as i said i wasn't particularly creative, hated sport - the two left ruled me out for football, when teams were picked I often chose to play left back (that's left back in the changing rooms if you please - lol).

Did I want to be famous? Well yes I did, deep down doesn't everyone? I dreamt of being the next Kevin Keegan, or as great a singer as Sting, or act as well as Anthony Hopkins (among others), but it wasn't to be. Instead I made use of my Maths skills and plumped for a job in accounting.

But watching the film, I think I saw it at the cinema about 7 times, maybe more (it was cheaper back then after all - lol), and the subsequent TV Series, I was immersed into a world where dreams could come true - for the characters anyway, even if just for a short time. Escapism at it's best, and the music was pretty good too.

Fame, however, comes to so few. Should we even call it fame these days - people who are, or seem to be, well known in their field, whether that's science, sport, drama, music, etc., tend to be viewed as celebrities these days, many others have acquired "fame" through achievements considered - well, to be frank, abhorrent (too strong?).

Technology today is playing it's part as well, with countless people on social media platforms, suddenly thinking they are famous because they have a gazillion followers tracking every plate of food they take a picture of.

So, there are a few thoughts on fame, and i'm still humming that darn tune ... aaarghhh

Have a great day and thanks for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center