JustOneThing - What Kit Should You Carry In The Japanese Rainy Season?

rainyseason.jpg

Right now we are in the middle of the "Rainy Season" here in Japan.

When it's raining, it's a beautiful combination of heavy rain, high temperatures and high humidity. When it's not raining, you get even higher temperatures and more intense humidity.

Record June Temperature

Yesterday, in Gunma Prefecture, the hottest ever day in June was recorded. Apparently it was the first time in recorded history that the June temperature rose to above 40 degrees Celsius (104 degrees Fahrenheit).

The temperatures have not been that high here in Hiroshima. Actually, I don't think this has been the worst rainy season in all my years in Japan. I have used the air conditioner at home just once so far, and that was yesterday morning.

Also, in spite of the humidity I haven't found myself soaked in sweat when venturing outside just yet. And there has not been the incessant concatenation of rainy days as happens some years.

A Debilitating Heat and Humidity

What I have noticed, however, is how debilitating this year's heat and humidity seems to be. I do quite a bit of walking during the week, but last week I walked much less than usual. I avoided breaking a sweat in the mornings by catching a tram all the way to my destination, but after I finished teaching, most days I chose to walk part of the way back home, cutting out the first leg of public transportation.

Most days were somewhat overcast last week, but even so, when I got back home and indulged in my habitual afternoon nap... it seemed that my whole body was suffering from sun stroke or heat exhaustion or something. (He he, spot the excuse for my lack of content creation for the past few days.) Afternoon naps became heavier and more extended, and yet not so refreshing as my lethargy continued into the evenings.

On Tuesday evening I had absolutely no inspiration or energy to buckle down and create a blog post. The only thing I COULD do was play a few games of Splinterlands and win a bunch of chests in my focus challenge. :)

That's pretty much how the rest of my free time played out during the week: I've been able to do some chess study, play Splinterlands, play online chess, listen to audio books, send out a few standard email campaigns, and that's about it.

What's more, it appears that when I do attempt to put out a blog post I stray completely off topic...

Okay, let's get back to the "daily prompt" word which is "kit" and have a look at the dilemma of choosing "kit" to venture out with during the Japanese rainy season.

1. Umbrella

This bit of kit can be problematic when travelling on public transport. Umbrellas get in the way, drip everywhere, and are frequently forgotten, but they are essential bits of kit in the torrential rain of the rainy season.

My solution is to use a telescopic umbrella. It's not ideal because the smaller canopy gives you less protection from the rain, and the shaft and ribs are a bit weak, so the umbrella is vulnerable to strong gusts of wind.

The benefits are that I can easily store it in my bag, so I'm much less likely to lose it. (I have never had an umbrella so long as I have had this one - about two years now, I'd guess.) I don't have to think about whether or not to take an umbrella - it's always there in my bag. When I get to the station on a rainy day, I simply fold it up, rub the excess water off with a towel, put it in its sheath and shove it back in my bag.

So the pros outweigh the cons in my book.

2. Hat

This is an annoying one. You need a hat if the sun is out. It also affords extra protection in heavy rain for when the umbrella starts to leak.

Trouble is, it makes your head sweat.

I bought a cheap baseball cap from Uniqlo the other week, and keep it stuffed into a side pocket of my bag only to be fished out and put on in extremis. As you can see, it's a bit creased as a result, but it was never intended to be a fashion statement (unless the creased effect happens to be "in" along with the "torn to shreds" jeans effect)...

rainyseasonkit.jpg

3. Hand towel

Useful for wiping down the umbrella and also for some rudimentary attempts to dry yourself off when you've received a good soaking from the elements, as happened to my walking home on Friday evening!

4. Raincoat??

No way! Far too humid to wear more than absolutely necessary. It would protect you from the rain on the outside while conspiring with the humidity to soak you on the inside.

5. Spare t-shirt

I have started to carry a spare t-shirt in case the one I'm wearing gets soaked in a downpour or due to the humidity. So far, I have not yet had to use it.

6. Spare Pair of Socks?

I don't usually bother to pack spare socks. I'm stoical enough to soldier on in wet socks. I haven't yet caught "trench foot" from this habit.

7. Rain boots? Galoshies?

Nope. I stick with my Converse sneakers come what may.

8. Flask of Hot Coffee

No matter how hot and humid the weather get, I invariably head out for the day with a flask of hot coffee. If you've just received a soaking, a cup of hot coffee will keep you going while you dry off under the classroom air-conditioner...

9. A Box of Meiji Almond Choco

With a box of almond chocos in your bag, you can go the whole day without needing any other nourishment if push comes to shove. The chocolate coating on the almonds may soften in the heat, but doesn't end up as a sticky mess, and serves as a morale booster in the most trying of times.

meijialmondchoco.png

And thus we get through the rainy season and look forward to the Japanese summer, which is very hot and very humid, but with bright blue instead of grey skies.

Is there anything that I should add to my Rainy Season survival kit?

Cheers!

David Hurley

#JustOneThing

#InspiredFocus ??

Source

https://www.meiji.com/global/food/chocolate/almond-chocolate.html

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center