Some pictures and a video of the peacock butterfly

On Sunday I had the opportunity to take several pictures of the peacock butterfly, that is one of the more common her in Upper Austria. It can be found on dry meadows and especially near the edge of small forests. It likes to visit blooming flowers for nectar and especially needs some sunny spots to warm up. The warmer it gets the more agile it is, so it is probably easier to get some nice pictures in the morning and the evening, because during the day they fly a lot from one flower to the next.

DSC_8596_crop.jpg
Peacock butterfly on dry soil. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1250 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time03:19 pm
ISO500

This is one of the first butterflies I found here this year, but I hope I got to see a lot of them later on in summer. Especially the family of Lycaenidae butterflies is a specimen I want to find more types this year. But this will not be so easy.

DSC_8596.jpg
Same picture without cropping. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1250 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time03:19 pm
ISO500

DSC_8631.jpg
searching for some nectar on a flower. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/2000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time03:28 pm
ISO100

Unfortunately a bit shaky the video, I really need to try a tripod the next time I take a video, I know I said that already several times but because I mainly only take pictures I underestimate the shaking my hands do when using the 150-600mm lens. Because even the slightest shake already results in a very serious shake on the video when using the 600mm focal length.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center