Up close and personal with spider

This series of spider pictures was taken using Canon EOS 100D attached with a 80-300mm telephoto lenses that is fitted with a custom macro lenses.

For the custom macro lenses, I'm using the lense from an old binocular. I took out the lense and properly glue it on top of a round hood. The round hood I got it when I purchase the telephoto lense, and I rarely using the round hood.

The first few tries, I always got an under exposed pictures. I performing some trial and error, just to find the best result. This is when I found out that I need another source of light when taking a macro photography. Due to this, I started carrying a USB LED light powered by a portable powerbank whenever I'm out for a photography session.


It was bright daylight when I took this picture. I'm really not sure why is it dark in the background. I'm assuming, maybe the aperture setting. I often use a bigger f-stop number when taking macro photography. As I mentioned earlier, this is one of my trial and error

Details of the setting used for this picture is as below:

Aperture f4.0
Shutter 1/40
ISO 200

spider_macro.png


The spider picture was taken within the same area. Below two pictures are the same spider, but on different leave. Details of the setting used for this picture is as below:

Aperture f9.0
Shutter 1/40
ISO 200

spider_macro2.png

spider_macro3.png

If you notice there is some sort of worm like thing on the picture, that is dust on top of the binocular lense. I didn't notice it, until the picture was taken and transferred to my laptop.


I've ordered a macro lensbong for smartphone from Shopee. Currently I'm using Huawei P40 which comes with macro lense. But the macro lense is so-so only. I won't categorized the lense on P40 as macro lense. For me, it is more to close-up.

I need to wait for few days for the delivery. Hopefully it is worth the wait. I did saw some posting from this community that is using lensbong, and the result is amazing.

Once I received my order, I will start taking picture using it and share the result here 😁


image.png
(dvdwritter)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency