SolarSunday : Strapping Young Lad - Detox guitar cover


}

I saw a lot of Straturday, and I thought by myself ... let's get into SolarSunday haha.

I have played on a BC Rich Warlock Platinum for a looooong time, but that axe was very heavy and hard to play imho.

bcrich.png

This is the guitar together with my recording rig back in the day haha. I believe this was around 2012.
I had the pickups of the BC Rich changed to a set of Kerry King EMG's which also had a gain-boost switch.

I also bought a Dean Flying V from my nephew because he didn't play on it anymore (he switched to bass guitar). That guitar was my favorite. It played so well (standing that is haha). I switched the pickups to the EMG Alexi Laiho. Getting the strings to stay in tune due to the floyd rose was a challenge, but that was my go-to guitar. I'm still sad when I think about the fact that that guitar, along with the Line6 Pod500 and drumgear has been stolen (together with my car ...). The person who stole it has never been found and neither was the car and gear sadly ...

Since I had to rethink about my playing due to a chonic pain condition, I decided to invest in a good guitar. I had some earnings from Steemit that I could use to buy a guitar. Around that time, Solar guitars got launched by Ola Englund and I decided to buy the A2.6C (first batch maybe? I don't know .. but I was one of the first

I have never regretted buying that guitar. What a treat to play it is every time. It stays so perfectly fine in-tune , the tone is killer, the neck plays smoothly.
solar.png

This was a photo from the day that it arrived. I was so excited.

Since the title states : Strapping Young Lad - Detox cover , here's also the video of the cover from that song that I recorded. Not a full instrumental since SYL needs the vocals from Devin Townsend.

I grew up listening to SYL, and I played those records (and this song along with it) a lot. I still listen a lot to the work of Devin Townsend. Not just SYL but also his other work which have some gems.

I recorded 2 guitar tracks for this with the guitar tuning in Drop D tuning, which differs from the Open-C tuning that he mostly plays in.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center