Learning to Read Music - Two Books - Finally Made it to the Sixth String.

I can read tablature no problem, but I've wanted to learn to read music for a really long time now. This is my third attempt, but I'm really committing now.

I started taking it seriously this year. Well, actually the last couple of months when I found Hal Leonard Book 1 in a thrift shop for 75 cents. I took it as a sign to try again. As they say, "the third time is a charm". I try to dedicate at least 20 to 30 minutes a day to reading music.

I finally made it to the sixth string, but I get confused. The music book I purchased, Hal Leonard - Book 1, doesn't really have a lot of songs for the 5th and 6th strings so I decided to order a second book. Mel Bay - Grade 1 Guitar.

A timeless classic

Bought a used copy on Amazon for $6. This thing is vintage, look at the price on the cover... $1.50... God I miss those days. 🤣

I don't know what it is, but the notes that fall below or under the staff confuse the hell out of me.

The first time I attempted to learn to read music was in 3rd grade. I had this impatient music teacher that made me super nervous. 🤣 I got to almost the end of Mel Bay's book 1 but didn't finish because I didn't like the teacher.

I then tried to teach myself a second time in high school and made it to about the same point before I got super frustrated. Since then though, I've taught myself a lot of other stuff. Spanish (basic understanding), and typing (I'm an awesome typist now). This time, I'm not giving up. The one thing I've learned from my other studies is that if you stay active, even 10 to 20 minutes a day, eventually you get it. That's how I learned to type. The trick is to make the commitment and stick to it daily!

So a few months into this, I've made it back to the 6th string, and I'm right about to the point where I quit the last two times. Only this time I'm really dedicated, I'm older, and I'm a little more responsible and reliable 😏 Maybe LOL

My goal is to get through both of these book ones by the end of the year, then find a bunch of basic music to start playing and grow in my ability to read and play.

I love notational music because it's so much easier to figure out rhythms with it. Whole notes, half notes, quarter notes, eighths and so on, make playing music so much easier IMHO.

I also started a basic music theory course on BluesGuitarInstitute. That has been a lot of fun.

Anyway, back to these books. I started this one a couple of months back, but I felt I needed more examples for the 5th and 6th strings so I ordered the second book...

Hal Leondard Book 1

I'm kind of digging the vintage book. I love this image.

20230508_161705.jpg

I find it hysterical that the guy is wearing a suit and tie while playing guitar. People were so professional back then in all they did. I'm really digging that massive guitar he's holding too. That body is HUGE! I can just imagine some guy in the 1950s sitting down in his suit ready to play a little guitar after a hard day at the office 😂

I actually saw someone trying to sell one of the vintage books on eBay for $20.

The modern Hal Leonard guy is much more laid back in his jeans and sweatshirt.

20230508_162250.jpg

I think part of my problem is I move forward too quickly. This time I'm slowing my pace. Each time I get to the fifth and sixth strings, I just start getting confused. Plus you're actually repeating the notes and that's confusing as hell. For example, your open E on the first string, the E on the 4th string, then another open E on the sixth string. I think the confusion comes in as I try to name each note as I play.

I've been making cheat sheets to study in bed now... Never did that before and I also look up music online and try to read the notes.

20230508_192332.jpg

Does anyone else read music here? Do you name the notes as you play them? Am I going about this right?

So that's what I've been doing lately. I'm working on some music to post soon. I know I keep saying that, but I'm pulling out the video equipment for travel season, so I'll be doing some 3Speaks soon and plan on doing some guitar stuff this year for sure!

I haven't seen many options for music education outside of Mel Bay and Hal Leonard. Any suggestions for good books that teach you how to read and play guitar music?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center