Have you traced your family tree?

I have been working on my family tree for quite a while.

This is just the section with photos. I have gone back to 1647 on the male line and 1645 on my mothers side.

The family did not move much and is still within 10 miles of the earliest records. A few people came into the family from distant places in England but this is easily explained due to the increase in coal mining in the early nineteenth century.
I also found out we were poor.

The reason for starting this? My wife's great grandmother had the same maiden name we have now. I wanted to know if we were related in any distant way. I found although I was born in the same village we were not related.

Tracing your family tree is great fun but hard work. You will need some idea of your family as records only really exist in the U.K. Between 1841 and 1911. Once you have these sorted you can then go back further using more local records.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center