What I've learned from hiring...

pexels-photo-90333.jpeg

I've done a lot of hiring as our company has grown tremendously in the last 3 years. And there are some things that I have learned to look for in an applicant in regards to whether they'll work out long-term. Take this for what it's worth... just my observations. If this is of any interest or value, I'd be glad to answer any questions this brings up for you.

    • Conviction. How someone approaches the position says a lot about whether they really want it or whether they're just applying so they can say they did. I'm really busy with other responsibilities in the company, so I look for people who confidently stay after me to get them involved with our team. And if they waver at all when I discuss the responsibilities of an open position, it's a good sign that they may not come through in the clutch.
    • Responsibility. Does someone get back to me quickly when I reach out? Or are they aloof? Did they show up on time for their interview? Or offer an excuse? How one does something is how one does everything.
    • Judgment. Did they apply for a job working with families/kids and large corporate clients 3 hours after posting a profanity-laced tirade on social media? What comes up when I google them? I'm responsible to our clients for putting professional entertainers on their events, so I have to look for people who display class. If I hire someone with poor judgment, then it's my responsibility when they eventually conduct themselves inappropriately.
    • Respect and humility. It's tricky managing all the "artistic" personalities on a team of 50+ dancers, musicians, DJs, roadies, and techs. Subtle (or overt) gestures of respect (including in first contact) really help me have confidence that someone won't flake or trifle and give me future entitlement problems for which I don't have time. I really want "A" level players on our team. It's important for "A" level players to like the company just as much as the company likes THEM. I get that. But I don't hold anyone's hand. Our team relies heavily on each other. To be on our team, you must adult.
    • Following instructions/attention to detail. It's impossible to put systems in place without people on your team that WANT to adhere to them. I'm looking for people who would present ideas on how to make a system better if it's not ideal, rather than just do their own thing and create problems. As such, I immediately delete applications that do not specifically supply what I've asked for (portfolios, references, etc). It leaves a good impression when someone, instead of spamming applications, takes the extra few minutes to properly apply.
    • All about the money? I pay close attention to how they act in regards to money. If the money is disproportionately their focus, I have an involuntary reaction and close myself off to them because I know I will have money problems with them in the future. It's not so much whether they ask about the pay... I expect them to want to know. It's more about when and how they ask. And if they don't ask at all and I have to bring it up myself, that gives me an even better feeling that they are seriously interested in the opportunity and would appreciate it. That suggests a longer term and more mutually beneficial business relationship. It is easy to say yes to solid pay for people who you can tell are not doing it just for that.

Resteem.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now