Rhino peak

I thought I could share my story on how I fell in love with hiking. It was a school exposition for the grade 11s. this was not my first time hiking but it was my first time going with friends.
This was a weekend trip and our group was small consisting of only 26 people. We had 2 teachers and 2 adults to supervise.
We left school on Friday and arrived at the Berg at 3 o’clock in the afternoon. We unpacked and began our hike to the Cave. The hike was roughly an hour and a half with at least 20km to cover. We arrived at the cave just before the night turned dark. We set up our sleeping bags in the cave and made our dinner over little gas stoves.
We woke up early the next morning and by 7:30am we had left the cave and started our route to the top of Rhino Peak. The hike was at least an there hour hike. The hike was tiring but beautiful. The air felt so clean in my lungs and sitings around us were breath taking.
I couldn’t believe my eyes when we were at the top of the mountain. Below us was aches of beautiful land. I felt so blessed and gifted to have the ability to experience this.
When we arrived late in the evening all hot and sweaty, we jumped in the freezing water to bath and cool down.
That night we laid our blankets out on the grass and watched the stars twinkle. I promise you now we saw atleast 15 shooting stars. Want to know something – I didn’t wish on one star because I was so happy in that moment.
On Sunday morning we began our trip back to civilation. If I could live their I would. I tell you now, if you ever have the chance to hike, try it out. Its not for everyone but you might fall in love with it as I did.
Please vote and comment on any of your hiking adventures, id love to hear them.
These pictures were taken from my hiking at Rhino Peak, the Berg, South Africa.
20180211_153926.jpg

20170812_113442.jpg

20170812_080714.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now