Avoid heresy: Keep me from deceitful ways; be gracious to me and teach me your law. Psalm 119:29

Psalm 119 tells us about many things, but especially teaches us of the importance of following the correct path of life avoiding heresy, because if we follow the path of error, we are entering a path of uncertain and unpredictable results, it may be that with luck things go well, but the most probable is that things go wrong.
And this is very important because we live in times of oppression where lies and heresies abound, and the truth is scarce. The heresy is the teaching of the error. The truth is the base of everything, what happens if we make decisions based on false information? Misinformation wreaks havoc among common and simple people.
We are on the right path when we are precise and accurate in all the decisions we make, and this means entering the field of wisdom and truth. And wisdom inevitably comes from above and from God, wisdom is linked to intuition, to inspiration, to creativity.
This is why it is so important to ask God for his gifts, especially wisdom and the fear of God. And these gifts give us a great advantage, because they give us a heart predisposed to understand the truth and the ways of God, and in particular the commandments. The commandments are not simply rigid rules that must be followed, the commandments are rules that must be applied with common sense, with that sense that wisdom provides us.
And on the importance of the application of common sense, the Bible gives us in the first book of Maccabees an important example, during Hellenism, the time after Alexander the Great, the pagans persecuted the Jews, attacking them even on Saturday; and as this book tells us, Mattathias during the rebellion of the Maccabees had to fight even on Saturday.
So the psalmist asked God to be led on the right path, and with this blessing to avoid error or heresy:
"Keep me from deceitful ways;
be gracious to me and teach me your law.
I have chosen the way of faithfulness;
I have set my heart on your laws.
I hold fast to your statutes, LORD;
do not let me be put to shame.
I run in the path of your commands,
for you have broadened my understanding" Psalm 119:29-32.
Avoid heresy. Keep me from deceitful ways; be gracious to me and teach me your law. Psalm 119,29.jpg
For more information visit my profile follow the link and download for free my ebook.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now