Transplanting Heirloom Tomatoes - One Step Closer to the Garden

It is definitely time to transplant the tomatoes since they have the second set of leaves. A few weeks ago I posted that the heirloom tomatoes had sprouted and were doing well.

For information on the varieties of heirloom tomatoes I planted, refer to my prior post

As part of the hardening off process, I will now transplant them to individual pots so they can continue to grow.

tom1.jpg

I use peat pots and a good quality potting soil mix for the plants. Peat pots are inexpensive and work well since the plants can then be planted directly into the garden when the time comes. I use a plastic tray to hold the peat pots which are also inexpensive.

The first and probably most important step is to label the pots using a permanent marker with the tomato variety. In my case I am transplanting quite a few different varieties so this is important. Next, fill the pots with soil and water slightly to settle the dirt. I then used my finger to create a small impression to hold the tomato plant.

tom3.jpg

Next carefully separate the best looking plants and place in the pots. Like I mentioned at the beginning of this post, the plants are ready to transplant that have the second set of leaves, so I try to choose those.

tom2.jpg

Finally, add a small amount of soil to further support the plants, then gently press down the soil and water again.

tom4.jpg

Once transplanted, it's important to keep the plants out of the sun for a day or so to allow the plants to adjust to the shock of transplanting. In a few days, I will move the plants to my green house on the porch.

Stay tuned for futher updates.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center