The Twins Have Exciting News!

The Countdown Begins!!

Yesterday I felt like I was walking on air. The twins don't really understand yet, but they could tell I was excited.

... we finally booked Matt's flight home!

He won't be coming back for another three weeks, but it's nice to have a date to look forward to. And with ticket-in-hand (well digitally at least), his return definitely feels more real.

While I was booking his tickets, the twins were playing in their room. I rarely shut the gate unless I'm in there with them but I didn't want to make any mistakes (or have little hands type something accidentally) ... it was funny to watch their reaction.

Squirt kept trying to lift the gate like she sees me doing. Squish rolled over the walker and then tried to climb on it to get over! Little escape artists ... I'm going to have to keep a close eye on these two.

They're out!


And just after I booked his ticket ... I discovered that Squish's front tooth finally popped through!


Sorry it's not in focus ... I was trying to snap a photo while getting her to laugh!

The one on her right is almost through too and her bottom teeth are really close. I expect Squirt won't be far behind.

Quite the exciting day for us!

When Matt returns


The girls and I were "talking" the other day - I was asking the questions and answering them too - about what we're looking forward to doing when Daddy gets back.

Squirt (I'm pretty sure this is what she said) can't wait to hang out with him. She misses crawling on him. She misses his funny faces and silly songs.

Whenever we're ending a video chat with Matt, Squirt will put her head against the screen. The warmth probably feels like his head is touching her's. It's the cutest thing ever! I know she misses being close to him.

Squish told me she wants to go swimming with Daddy. She is looking forward to hearing him play the guitar and push her on their trike.

Squish loves music and swimming. I think they calm her.

Squish been the least emotional about Matt leaving (at least outwardly). I think in part because she and I are closer, while Squirt is closer to Matt. But also because she's probably like me and "stuffs" her emotions. I've learned I can't stuff them for long or they explode, but I'm still not very good at articulating them. I think Squish will be similar. When she's uncomfortable or upset, she will cry but then she doesn't know what she wants to make it better. When Squirt cries I know she wants something and that she knows what it is. It's just up to me to figure it out! LOL

Of course, I'm looking forward to having Matt back too. Besides the obvious reasons, I miss having someone to laugh with, to review the events of the day and make plans with. I miss his presence too. Sometimes when I'm thinking about him a lot, I forget he isn't actually here ... and then I remember and that makes me miss him even more.

Matt tells me he looks forward to walking through the mall with us (he knows that's one of my favorite things to do - walk, drink a coffee, and people watch/window shop). I'm going to hold him to that! :D


I feel like I'm rambling, so it's probably time to end this post. Thanks for following along! As you know by now, life's always an adventure around here ... let's see what comes our way these next three weeks! lol

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now