Daddy Is Home! And Other Twin Updates

The best laid plans ...

We should’ve known, but it was still a hard hit when Matt’s first flight home was delayed, throwing off the rest of his itinerary. He ended up coming in 30 hours later than originally planned and had to spend a night at the Incheon airport.

Surprise!

Knowing that it had been a rough trip back, I thought Matt could use a surprise. Instead of waiting for him at home, we went to meet him at the airport.

A few hours after they’d gone to bed, I woke up the twins and bundled them into our Grab (a service like Uber).

When Matt messaged me that he was coming through customs and ready for me to book his Grab, I replied “look out for the blue bunny.” Blue bunny is Squirt’s favorite stuffed animal, so I could see him scanning the crowd for us as he walked out the sliding doors.

Sleepy, the girls didn’t recognize him at first. But once Matt picked up Squirt, the realization of who it was dawned on her face.

Squish had a mild fever and wouldn't let go of me. When Matt tried to hold her, she started to cry and didn't understand what was going on.

As the car carried us home, I felt a sense of calm and comfort come over the girls and me as we listened to Matt's voice. It felt good to be a family again.

Daddy's home!

The next morning, the girls slept in but were eager to see Daddy when they woke up. They love having him home! Each day has been filled with the happiness of being together again ... and the strangeness of talking out loud, being spoken to at random moments of the day, and having someone else to care for ... all of which have taken time to adjust to, but which I'm thankful for!

I have lots of things to share from the last two weeks, so as I get back into Steemit, I'm looking forward to sharing those with you!

Thanks for stopping by!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now