Self Care: We need to bring it back. Do we need to have doctors update their training every 5 years?

Today at the GP I was told that I have high inflammation indicators (blood test).

I asked this question: Is there anything I can personally do to decrease this?

Answer: "No" (Period)

Terrifying right?

Anyway I was then given a prescription for Nexium. Like usual, I bin it (waste of paper) and fix the issue with diet and reduce the many factors in my life, food and otherwise that foster inflammation (in this case).

Diet is rarely mentioned at a GP, in fact, in my experience I have never been told that any particular food can help for any particular aliment. This has happened time and time again and each time I take the info and then take care of it myself.

I am always left wondering, does the particular GP actually believe that nothing can be done for issues that most of us have under ones own steem, you know, self care?

Hmmm Same thing happened to my wife, similar question, same answer, "No".

It is not hard to understand why this happens, but this does not make it any easier to digest.

Basically if you ever ask "Is there anything I can personally do to help my condition?" No = Yes

Of course there are exceptions, but only a few, missing a leg? Then "No" is legit.

Don't take my word for it:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center