Happy Whiskey Wednesday-Original Tag Challenge with @the-future- Featuring Teenage Band Obsessions

I usually post a video of my brother with these posts, but today I am trying something new inspired by a song that I just heard on the radio. But before I get into that...

If this happens to be the first time you've stumbled upon a Happy Whiskey Wednesday post, here is the backstory:

Once upon a time a group of friends of mine on social media (when facebook was in its fledgling stages) started the tradition of Happy Whiskey Wednesday as a way of bringing some fun to the middle of a work week. It was our own cyber happy hour...s.
We would post kick-ass, upbeat songs to one another; we even turned it into a contest at one point as to who could bring the most fun and excitement to the party. Often the hilarity would go on into the night, with dozens of ridiculous pictures (and comments of course) added to the mix.

**I generally end this segment with: So if you feel the urge please do join in the fun, either by making your own post or posting down below in the comments with videos or anecdotes, or really anything that floats your boats!

But today, as I said, I'm doing something new.

From 2012 until 2015 my daughter was a Super Fan of One Direction. To the degree that she rarely listened to anything else. We took her to meet-ups and two concerts- her idea of heaven at the time- and her room? Plastered with posters and merchandise, even a life-size Cardboard cut out of Harry Styles (that scared the crap out of me on more than one occasion) When my daughter gets into something, there are no half measures. She didn't just fall in love with their music, she spent countless hours watching videos of them off-stage and falling in love with them in general. I have to admit, there were a couple she showed me that made me kinda like these boys myself.

You see this Boy Band was untypical in one really big way--they absolutely refused to learn choreographed dancing...and the following minute long video expresses this, well fucking hilariously actually:

Now as you can imagine, the rest of the household got pretty tired of hearing those boys in the background. But now that it's been nearly two years since the obsession came to its end? I have to admit, when I hear a song of theirs on the radio I find myself singing along and feeling a bit nostalgic. And there were a few songs (I realize now) that I like well enough myself to download to my mp3 player.

My personal favorite of theirs- Act Your Age (Which may as well be my husband and my theme song...though it would have been appropriate if it were named Never Act Your Age)

My second favorite: The one that most people have probably heard, but may not know was them:

And finally, this would not be complete if I didn't add at least one of their cliche/cheesy but super upbeat songs...and this video has the added bonus of a skit performed by the band (that I honestly also find pretty hilarious)


EDIT: I just had to add this--One Direction goofing off to Jason Derulo's Talk Dirty To Me...(I blame the whiskey)

Does anyone currently have tweens or teenagers who have become obsessed with a particular band?
Are your kids grown but you are now remembering a band they obsessed over?
Too young for either of those? When you were a teenager did you have a band you obsessed over? If the answer is yes to any of the above, please regale us with stories and videos in the comments below!!



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now