Halloween Movie Recommendations

Favorite Horror Movies.png

Being a movie freak and someone who studied film, I thought the least I could do on Halloween Eve, is give you a list of some of my favorite horror movies. Instead of digging through my dusty movie memory, I visited my Letterboxd profile. I discovered that - from over 700 horror movies that I logged - I've liked 93.

I plan to watch two more tonight, namely: 'The Conjuring', a well known and popular horror flick by James Wan ( known from the Saw movies ) and a French arthouse film called 'Dernière Séance' ( Last Screening, 2011 ).

The Conjuring will hopefully proof to me that James Wan can actually make a horror movie that I find enjoyable and thus show me that good recent horror ( that appeals to me ) actually exists. Last Screening, a film that is - according to MUBI - 'Working with the rules of the giallo genre' - is especially appealing to me. Not only is Giallo one of my favorite movie subgenres, this film's story really piques my interest:

Sylvain, 31 and film-obsessed, lives in the basement of a small art-house theater where he works as a programmer, projectionist and cashier. Each night, after the last showing, he goes out for a murderous ritual.

source

What follows, is a link to about a hundred horror films that I really like:

https://letterboxd.com/vinfilm/likes/films/genre/horror/by/release/

For your information:

If you follow the above link, you can click on each individual film for more info. There's often a trailer to be found underneath the movie's poster.

( Unlike shown on the screenshots in this post ) you will get an overview of these 93 titles, in chronological order, newest first. On closer inspection, you will find out that most of my favorites are from the 1990s, 1980s and often even older than that. Aside from that - especially when it comes to movies from the 1970s and before - you might wanna argue whether they can be considered horror or not. Some seem closer to the thriller, drama or even film noir genre. Horror comes in many disguises and what might not be considered horror nowadays might easily have been a horrific experience to audiences in the past.

Favorite Horror Movies 2.png

That's it for now, I hope you find something to your liking in there. Feel free to start a discussion on horror movies or share a list of your favorites in the comments.



And, if you haven't already, find out more about my movie taste by reading:


or follow me on Letterboxd: https://letterboxd.com/Vinfilm/



Happy Halloween!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center