Gun Review: Beretta M9 vs. Springfield XD by WakeUpND

P1000826.JPG

I recently pick up this 9mm Beretta M9(on the left) from the local gun store to add to my collection and decided to do a review against my .45 cal Springfield XD(on the right) that I've had for a few years. I've never owned a 9mm before and I am quite fond of my .45 so I wasn't sure how they would compare so I headed out to the shooting range to find out.

At the range I did some pretty basic comparisons like accuracy, recoil, loading and handling of the guns.

Pros for the Beretta

  • The action and slide release are super smooth and easy to manipulate.

  • Sight picture is better.

  • Less recoil but not as much as I was expecting.

  • Love the look and feel of this gun.

Pros for the XD

  • More accurate with this gun probably due to me shooting it more.

  • Loading magazine is super easy compared to the Beretta.

Cons for the Beretta

  • Loading magazines by hand is quite the pain.

  • Barrel gets hot after a couple magazine dumps

Cons for the XD

  • More recoil because of the bigger bullet.

  • Slide is harder to work than the Beretta.

  • feels ok in the hand but not as good and the Beretta.

What stood out the most between the two guns was reloading the magazines. I couldn't believe how much harder it was to load the Beretta magazines. The Beretta mags springs were very tight maybe because they are new but even the bullets themselves were giving me problems with seating sideways in the magazines. Not sure if the XD is a better designed magazine or has anti-tilt follower or just a bigger bullet makes it easier but I could load those magazines 2 or 3 times faster than the Beretta.

The triggers seems about the same to me. I didn't notice a lot of difference but then again I was mainly focusing on the recoil and accuracy. The accuracy was better with the XD I think that can get chalked up to more time with that gun. The recoil on the Beretta was less but like I said I was expecting it to be a bit better and I'm sure I can reduce it even more with a better grip on the gun.

Overall the Beretta is a sexy gun and the action is smooth as butter but the reloading is a pain. The XD is nice too, it's a little rough looking but gets the job done. Hard to say which one I like more but I think I'd choose to take the XD to the range more if I planned on shooting a lot or at least invest in a speed loader for the Beretta to save my thumbs some pain.

P1000825.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center