1962 Slab Board Fender Stratocaster gets a new stainless steel fret job

1962strat.JPG

Don't let your guitar tech guy/Luthier tell you that stainless frets don't sound any good, he just doesn't want to do it, because it's harder to do than a regular re-fret. They sound great. I put them on all my guitars now. They are just a total pain in the you know where to put in, and they don't make a re-fret wire so you have to finagle it to get it just right. But it's worth it, for both the great tone and the fact that you are not going to wear it out and have to do it again in a few years. This guitar I re-fretted some years ago with regular (nickel) frets, and then it came back, needing re-fretted yet again, since this guitar gets played, a lot. Now this wonderful guitar is ready to go back on the road, and it's owner/player won't have to worry about wearing the frets out again.

before the fret job:

after the fret job:

Since my primary work is building my own amps (the Gjika Shawn Lane Powers of Ten Redux (10^n)) I only work on my own guitars and vintage/high-end guitars these days. If you are in the San Diego area, and have a high-end guitar that needs some work done and want to contact me, I can be found on Facebook (Robert Gjika), YouTube (Bob Gjika), Instagram (Gjika_Amplification) and my web address is http://www.gjikaamplification.com.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center