Lick of The Week 7


Hey team, back with another fairly simple but different lick.

When I choose these licks I basically grab whatever I am playing around with - this one is something that I haven't worked on enough but I really like the possibilities (the woes of working full time).

It's basically a crossover of a slap technique from the bass where you play the first note with the thumb, the next one with a hammer on then a right hand palm hit before plucking the octave. I transferred the basic idea to a Steve Vai type ascending 1 5 9 sounding sequence and.. well, here it is.

Timing wise, I like to group them up into 4 really quick percussive strikes with some RH palm muting but in reality I need to work on it a lot... just like everything I play ha.
lotw7.PNG

Start slow, use a metronome.

Cheers

outoftune


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center