RE: RE: Good Morning Gridcoin - Bloomberg Tech' Mention & My GRC Origin Story
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good Morning Gridcoin - Bloomberg Tech' Mention & My GRC Origin Story

RE: Good Morning Gridcoin - Bloomberg Tech' Mention & My GRC Origin Story

So my #GRCOriginStory starts many years ago, when I was young and virile, ok we can skip some of that ;)

Then I heard about another type of BOINCing that helps science. I started running some projects I forget now what they were, I think Rosetta may have been one, and I was on SIMAP for a long time.

I heard about Bitcoin around 2012, and I was tempted to try mining, but I couldn't divert my computer from BOINC work, for an experimental currency project. I forgot all about Bitcoin.

Then in early 2014 Id heard about the $1,000 Bitcoin price, and I started thinking about it from time to time, but PC mining was already gone by then. I was idly Googling in Summer of 2014 and must have put 'bitcoin boinc' in because Gridcoin came up.

WOW! So I was going to get in on some of this, thought I. I downloaded the client, but I couldnt get it to sync (if you think its complicated now, you should have tried it then!), and anyway 50% was still based on hashing, so I wasnt to bothered about cutting my BOINC contributions in half. I forgot all about it.

For some reason that little seed kept growing in my mind, if only we could reward BOINCers, we may be able to attract a lot of nerds who were getting into Bitcoin. So in January 2015 I tried again, Gridcoin was changing, it was transitioning to PoS, whatever that was, but it only used 1% CPU and the rest was directed at BOINC

WOW

Now Im super keen, so I buy some Gridcoin Classic, and burn it for Gridcoin Research (the GRC of today), and on the 25th Jan 2015 I had mined my newbie stake block, as we called them in those days.

And as they say dear reader, the rest is history!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center