My little SBC BOINC Cruncher

These 4 SBCs are some of my BOINC cruncher, which also yields some gridcoins:
IMG_1628.jpg
They consist of:

  • 2 ODROID C2
  • 1 Raspberry Pi 2
  • 1 Raspberry Pi 3

These generate no noise and use only little power (around 5-10 W per board).

Addionally a little extra Cruncher sits in my "hard drive box" below my table:
IMG_1637.jpg
The ODROID XU4 with 8 cores (4 big A15, 4 little A7) has some more calculation power, but therefore it needs an active fan.
The default fan has replaced by me for better cooling with less noise.

Be aware that...

Of course they offer by far note the calculation power of a "big" computer, but as they can run 24/7 they still pile up some credits over time.
You have to take a close look at which project to choose, as not every BOINC project supports these ARM computers.
All SBCs run with a Debian based Linux OS.

For better managing and monitoring this many BOINC clients I would suggest BoincTasks:

My Gridcoin story

I've come to gridcoin thanks to an ODROID forum post which catched my interest about 2 years ago, starting with one SBC.
Since then I collected some more computers for BOINC crunching... ;)
I can only recommend gridcoin because the community is very friendly and helpful to beginners.
And it is still one of the few cryptocurrencies which rewards coins for computing something useful!
If you are interested feel free to visit the official homepage for more details: https://gridcoin.us/

So if you have some Raspberry Pi lying around, why not letting them do something useful? :-)

If you liked this post, please leave an upvote.
Also please don't hesitate to ask any questions or add anything as a comment.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center