Regarding Changing the Gridcoin PoS Protocol -- Active Poll

GRCHorizontal_Purple&Purple_Solid.png

From my response found the thread regarding changing the Gridcoin PoS incentive structure from % interest to fixed block reward. Thread found here:

https://github.com/gridcoin/Gridcoin-Research/issues/106.

Join the discussion!


EDIT ADD:

Interest earned on coins does not require the coin to stake within a specific time period. The 6 month limit is related to DPoR and beacons. This doesn't change much of the proposal outline's purpose, but it is misinformation. My apologies!

Thank you @tomasbrod for bringing that error to my attention.


Gridcoin has been developing at a record pace over the past months. I have seen very little obstruction when it comes to this progresses. I would hope, however, that when we start to crack open the base protocols we will slow down and take our time so we don't need to fix them again in a month. I would also hope that we try to include as much of the community as possible and provide ample time for counter-proposals and discussion. If we don't, we run the risk of forking GRC just like SegWit forked bitcoin. SegWit did not really give enough time for dissenters to form counter-proposals, so when SegWit activated without serious consideration for alternatives, those who dissented forked the coin so they could implement their own solutions when they are ready (I think in November). I do not think that anything discussed here is serious enough to cause a fork, but we should learn from the mistake of bitcoin and attempt to fix the process now instead of when a serious change is proposed. We should do this for the security of Gridcoin, not in favor of any one proposal or another.

That said, I have been working on the whitepaper along with a proposal over the past months. I was hoping to release everything together in a nice, neat, and accessible format. Because there is now an active poll regarding one of the base protocols, I can not wait. Here is a rough outline of what I have been working on with regards to proposals. I apologize for the format but I simply will not have enough time in the next 21 days to complete and refine the content. Also, if there is a better way to display pages of text without having to reformat everything, I'm all ears = ). I'm still new to GitHub.

Outline png Page 1.PNG
Outline png Page 2.PNG
Outline png Page 3.PNG
Outline png Page 4.PNG
Outline png Page 5.PNG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center