One of my BOINC rigs

So, I am president of my university's science club and because of that it was kinda my duty to set up a server for us. I've gathered scrap hardware that university had and built a PC which runs Ubuntu Server 17.04.
It is a Git server (Gogs) for hosting of projects we are working now, a fileserver (NFS) for our club use and after talk with our faculty head I've installed BOINC with following project selected:

  • DrugDiscovery@Home
  • SETI@Home (so GPU won't be bored)
  • Cosmology@Home

IMG_20180207_113011.jpg
PC specs:

  1. Intel Pentium D 2.66 GHz
  2. AMD Radeon HD 4850
  3. 4GB of DDR2 RAM
  4. 80GB Seagate ATA HDD
  5. 40GB WD Caviar ATA HDD for repository backups.
  6. Some shitty 400W PSU
  7. Some MSI motherboard

///I think that I might do some benchmarking about which projects will suit best this PC.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now