RE: RE: Good Morning Gridcoin - Bloomberg Tech' Mention & My GRC Origin Story
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good Morning Gridcoin - Bloomberg Tech' Mention & My GRC Origin Story

RE: Good Morning Gridcoin - Bloomberg Tech' Mention & My GRC Origin Story

My #GRCOriginStory:
I've always been interested in computers and science, even though I ended up in the engineering field... Sometimes I like to think of it as "applied science." :^)
I started crunching for distributed.net in 2001, as i recall. SETI@Home was next - I still remember when they updated the screensaver to show more detailed workunit status. When SETI shifted to BOINC, I immediately realized how this could enable many more projects to harness the power of volunteer computing. Little did I know how true that would become!
After 14+ years of crunching, I was thinking about cryptocurrencies, specifically that I still need to work to get money after missing the boat on Bitcoin, Etherium, and Ripple. At the time (2012 and 2014 for BTC, 2016 for ETH and XRP) I either "didn't have time" to set up crypto, or felt nervous about sending bank account routing info to a sketchy exchange in a sketchy country. OOPS. I'll have to wait a little longer to buy a private island, I guess.
Much like other users have experienced, a random search led me to Gridcoin. This time would be different! I set up a wallet in October 2017, but not without some difficulty. Thankfully, the developers and community are fantastic, and helped walk me through troubleshooting and eventually advertising the beacon. I think that I even "found" a bug in version 3.6.2! Not fun, but it showed me how great the developer community is.
The original intent was to start from scratch, solo mining without joining a pool. Unfortunately those days are long gone, so I bought a little BTC (big mistake) to trade for GRC, which was probably my best decision of 2017!
Today I'm proud to be a part of this growing community, and have recruited two more friends to the cause. I help them set up everything, join BOINC, and loan some coins to get them staking. I hope to give back a little of the positive spirit and camaraderie that make this probably the best crypto project around.
Now to get more cores :^)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center