Calling all ex-Plussers, wherever you are!

Google+ logo

As explained in last night's intro, I only joined Steemit because my old home, Google+, is going away on April 2 (outside the realm of GSuite) and nothing else comes close to a replacement--not even the much bandied-about MeWe or Pluspora (among others). (Don't forget to Takeout your archives and photos if you cherish your feed so dearly!)

While we're at it, positing this burning question to a new userbase:

Any other Google+ refugees (besides me and a few others) turned Steemians of late?

So far, all I've found on my own are these two: Otto Rapp / @thermoplastic, who introduced me to @steem.ninja (where I paid US$2.50 to create this account); and Cendrine Marrouat / @cendrinemedia, once from my list of Photographers (and whose first name I gave to a St. Lucian raccoon lady you'll meet in my forthcoming Unspooled #1).

If you've just arrived on Steem from the soon-to-be-former Plus, or you already joined months ago, then please feel free to raise your hands. The more interesting your content, the likelier I am to add you. (I run on aesthetic principles, which is why.) Bonus points if you resteem this to spread the word and let other migrants know.

Any which way, it's a pity two security lapses--and (to their admission) lower usage than they desired--led Google to pull the plug on the only social home most of its diehard users (me included) once knew. They get search, they get ads...but it seems they have never gotten social (unlike whom they've offered their attempts to); recall Orkut, Wave, and Buzz among G+'s graveyard brethren. What if Vic Gundotra stayed on that Good Ship and never left?


(Logo credit: Wikimedia Commons. Google, Google+, and respective logos are registered trademarks of Google, Inc. Usage is subject to company permissions.)

CC0 Kopimi
(2433)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now