How to install Google Drive Sync on Ubuntu 16.04 and higher

Google Drive on Ubuntu
Google Drive on Ubuntu
Google drive is one of the many handy tools Google offers. It is a file synchronization tool that allows you to backup, store and share and access files in the cloud. I use it to collaborate on files with others or to sync movies that I can then easily publish on Youtube.



Unfortunately there is no native Google drive software for Linux Desktops. Luckily there is a way to have a proper sync setup on Ubuntu 16.04 and higher that uses the Google drive API and some Gui tools. Let me show you how I have this installed on my Ubuntu Desktop.

First I install the Grive2 commandline tool:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:nilarimogard/webupd8
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install grive

No need to set it up right now. Instead let's first install grive-tools. This is a package that is only available up to Ununtu Vivid, but I have found that is works just the same on Ubuntu 16.04
Run the following from a terminal:

sudo su -c "nano /etc/apt/sources.list.d/thefanclub*.list"
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/thefanclub/grive-tools/ubuntu vivid main
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install grive-tools

Now go to the dash and type Grive and click on the Grive Setup application link and follow the instructions to setup your Google Drive Sync.

Here's a screenshot of my Google drive and the grive tools open.
Here's a screenshot of my Google drive and the grive tools open.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now