Learning Golf for First Time

img_6572.png

Being at the age of now 42 and been looking at the computer monitor for my entire career as a product designer I have noticed my neck is not as flexible as it used to be.... head banging to rave music is not as easy as it was back in college. hehehe.

I been looking for some sports that can help me turn my neck more smoothly at the same time my eyes can rest by looking far out the horizon. It seems like golf was a good choice to give out a try.

So I started without any knowledge and visited a golf practice range near my home.

img_6555.png

I have only seen people play golf and try to mimick the good ol 'monkey see monkey do' trick. I felt like "ok... i guess this is how you hit a golf ball.". However obviously I wasn't sure I am doing it correctly. So I asked a friend who does play golf and showed him a picture of my swing to see if I am doing it correctly. As you see the picture below, he mentioned my swing is too vertical. To be honest I had no idea what he was talking about.

img_6557.png

So he showed me a picture of how Tiger woods hit an iron golf club, text book style.

img_6559.jpg

This.... is easier said than done.

I tried searching on youtube... I was getting even more confused because everyone was saying something different from one another.

After trying multiple times on my own I realized my glove was wearing out very quickly and part of my body was starying to hurt (palms, wrist, rib cage, waist.... ect). Surely I knew I wasn't doing something or perhaps everything right.

img_6560.jpg

I understood at the moment the best way is to invest in myself and learn from a golf instructor... and practice through milage.

img_6575.png

img_6572.png

After a month (10 lessons) I have begining to improve as well as my body was now more flexible. I realized the art of golf is to know how to relax the body and let the club do itsthing.

I realized I was doing everything wrong in the first place. While my skills are improving I have also been enjoying the sports itself... its kind of meditation in a way.

Now my neck feels a lot better and I feel more healthy as well. It seems golf is good for both the mind and body. :)

img_6574.png
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/7WJE7gqBqUQ
Click the link to see full slo-mo video... I dont hit the ball everytime like this, but this one out of 1000 hits maybe was the best one. hahahaha.

I highly recommend anyone who wants to give golf a try to bettering both mind and body. Plus, its gets more fun as you improve. Its never too late to try something new.

Happy golfing!~

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency