Narcos: You are gonna cheer for the bad guy

I find out about series a long time after they happen because i don't live in the west anymore but this one was a winner for sure.

Let's forget about that fact that I am a big fan of mustaches for a second and just focus on the fact that the cartel / cociane stuff in the 80's was huge. I was a kid in that time and even though i might not have really known what they were talking about, I knew the name "Escobar."

250px-Narcos_season_1.png

I probably found out about this series a year after it aired but I will go ahead and start out by saying as soon as i figured how to make the subtitles work, it was something i couldn't stop watching. I already know what happens in the end and unless you are 7 years old or don't pay attention to life you already know what happens to Escobar too. However, i love the way this story is told.

A lot of the TV show is in Spanish so turn on the subtitles if you don't want to be lost. The story is narrated almost entirely by the DEA agent "Steve Murphy" and that is fine because it is (almost) entirely true what he says and they only use his narration when absolutely necessary.

Finger_pointing.jpg

  • i had to include this because i feel as though "steve" is the quintessential USA name other than my own*

So just in case you were asleep for the past 20 years this story follows the life of Pablo Escobar and his involvement in the creation of the cocaine trade routes that exist to this day in the USA and the world. He became extremely wealthy doing this and anyone that has ever done coke can understand why. I don't remember the exact statistic but at one point i want to say he was in the top 20 wealthiest people in the world.

e324dc892744cd8252fed9daf8f316b3.jpg

I honestly feel as thought the portrayal of Escobar as a normal human is fair to see. I enjoyed it. Im not saying drugs are good and what not but it is easy to understand that this person also had a human side that really really cared about his family which is good. He also really tried to look after the community that he was a part of and in many ways Netflix presents his character as the "hero" of the show and that the people that are trying to bring him down are the bad guys.

It was a lot of fun to watch and it is my understanding that there is a season 3 already, which i have seen none of. I guess I am going to have to find that.

In the meantime if you haven't watched this series at all, I strongly suggest you do so. It will be a buffet you don't regret.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center