Genealogy: Perez ben Judah (~1877 B.C. - 1638 B.C.)

I'm experimenting with posting some random bits of my genealogy research here with the goal of eventually creating a linked family tree on Hive. You can see the index here.

Perez Ben Judah is interesting because he is a Biblical figure. You may be wondering how in the world I could find genealogical data back that far. The answer is not very reliably but pretty much the same way you find other historical figures. It becomes somewhat easy if you have royalty in your family tree (and again, anyone of European decent probably does somewhere). They likely have a legitimate genealogy going back pretty far and at some point some King or Emperor or some other ancestor of theirs made a claim that they are descended from a god, Biblical, or legendary figure of some kind. Generally, such claims are somewhat dubious. But my approach to family tree building is take the info I find as-is unless I find something else that proves it wrong. Recognizing of course that after a certain point, it becomes speculative.

Gramps won't calculate this far back but this person is a direct ancestor probably somewhere in the neighborhood of 100 or so generations back. After all, Perez was born around 1877 B.C.

I use GenoPro to maintain my family tree but I mainly use Gramps to generate reports which is what most of the info below is based on. Gramps is open source software that is available for Windows, Linux and MacOS. I also use its relationship calculator functionality as noted above. I've also been exploring The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding (TNG) which is web based and requires a web server, PHP and mySQL. I also have GedSite which also generates static HTML reports. I'll dig more into GedSite eventually.

While Gramps is free, both TNG and GedSite are commercial software so you have to pay for them. I think their price is reasonable and they are both excellent in their own ways. However, I prefer the open source nature of Gramps and the fact that it generates static HTML makes it easy to work with. I still like TNG enough that I will probably keep using it as well. I'm undecided on GedSite until I get back to trying it out more though I've liked other sites I've seen generated with it. For now I am generating reports with Gramps and updating TNG on a fairly regular basis.

The chart at the top is an ancestry chart out to four generations from Gramps. The chart at the bottom is the same chart as generated by TNG. The index of all individuals I have posted so far can be found here.


The Skaggs-Files

Judah, Perez Ben

Birth Name Judah, Perez Ben
Gender male

Narrative

Note: Bible Mathew 1:1-17

Events

Event Date Place Description Sources
Death        
Event Note

B: Abt. 1738 B.C.
P: Hebron, Palestine

Parents

Relation to main person Name Birth date Death date Relation within this family (if not by birth)
Father Jacob, Judah Ben
Mother Epher, Tamar Bint
         Judah, Perez Ben
    Brother     Zarah, Zara

Families

Family of Judah, Perez Ben and

Unknown Partner ( *

...
)

  Children
Name Birth Date Death Date
Perez, Hezron Ben

Generated by Gramps AIO64-5.1.5-1
Last change was the 2023-05-14 23:01:49



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency